A totally unpredicted visit to Istanbul

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians,

How I got to visit this awesome city, it is kind of funny story. I was coming home from Dubai and we missed our flight connection, later we found out that actually the flight was overbooked and that's why the airplane left without us, so we received free tickets the next day and accommodation for one night and food. We were 15 people in this situation.

I was flying alone so I met three awesome girls who were also flying alone and we became friends and decided to visit the city together, despite we were so tired.

The hotel was kind of far from the city center but we shared a taxi ride and went discovering the city by ourselves. The rest of the people preferred staying at the hotel because of the attacks happening at the subway in that time.

We did not have a lot of time but we checked some major attraction. We crossed on the ferry the Bosphorus Strait (which connects the Black Sea with the Sea of Marmara) and from there we went to Hagia Sophia.

Waiting for the ferry
IMG_1142.JPG

View from the ferry
IMG_1151.JPG

We drank some traditional tea, the view was astounding, the pub was on hill, near some nice park.

IMG_1163.JPG

In the past, Hagia Sophia was first a orthodox church, after that became a mosque, and in the present is a museum. Now is one of the most astounding structures of Byzantine architecture.

IMG_1207.JPG

IMG_1217.JPG

FullSizeRender_2.jpg

Unfortunately we did not make it in time to visit it, but we visit the Sultan Ahmed Mosque, also known as Blue Mosque.
It was built just in seven year, between 1609-1616 and today continues to function as a mosque. It’s really close to Hagia Sophia. It was my first time when I visited a mosque, because in Dubai I did not have the chance, but I had to borrow a scarf to cover, in order to respect the religion. I was really impressed by this wonderful mosque.

FullSizeRender_1.jpg

FullSizeRender_3.jpg

FullSizeRender_4.jpg

There I met a Spanish photographer who was traveling around Europe, we became Facebook friends and she gave the picture she took me inside

Picture made by my new friend
FullSizeRender_6.jpg

After that we could not left back to the hotel without visiting one of the largest covered market, the Grand bazaar. It may be considered as one of the first shopping malls.

IMG_1281.JPG

IMG_1288.JPG

FullSizeRender_5.jpg

There were a lot of people encouraging us to buy, they knew somehow we were from Romania, I don t know how and spoken to us in Romanian language or asked us about some wannabe celebrities from here. It was really funny. We did not buy anything because our luggage was full.

Of course we ate some baklava and a tasty shawarma.
FullSizeRender.jpg

The streets were kinda of trashy, but I saw this colorful stairs which I liked very much.

IMG_1292.JPG
It was sunset time and went back to the port to catch the last ferry crossing once again Bosphorus Strait.

IMG_1293.JPG
I really enjoyed the city, and I often dream about returning back. Did you enjoy Istanbul? What’s your favorite attraction from there?

IMG_1315.JPG

Istanbul is inspiring because it has its own code of architecture, literature, poetry, music.
Christian Louboutin

Hope you enjoyed my post. Feel free to follow me, upvote and resteem my post.
Thank you.
Have a nice time.
xo A

!steemitworldmap 44.433780 lat 26.125488 long A totally unpredicted visit to Istanbul d3scr

Sort:  

Very beautiful pictures. Did you have any falafel?!

Thank you @jeffjagoe. Unfortunately not! Is it good? cheers

I first tried it about 2 years ago and I have been hooked ever since. It has a lot of flavor.
Hope you have a great day :)

Hmm so I have to try! Have a wonderful day u too! cheers

WOW its a awesome place to visit. Nice pics too

Thank you dear @vindy! follow me for more awesome places to discover! cheers!

Great impressions of Istanbul.

Thank you for sharing.

Thank you dear @thomashinze! I saw you also travel, so now I am one of your followers. cheers :D

cooool pics! nd you look so beautiful btw .. tahnks for sharing this

You took advantage of this great opportunity to visit these beautiful sites. The mosque of Santa Sofia has always attracted my attention. It's a pity you can not enter. I hope someday to visit it.

I am sure you will!! Muchas grasias querido @oscarcc89!

Ahh.. sabes hablar español, que bueno jeje. Saludos!

solo un poquito :D

Por tus hermosas fotografías, te ganaste un seguidor!
Espero poder seguir viendo post como este. :)

Gracias!! yo te seguire tambien! >:D<

boost

haha thanks for meeping me dear @ionlysaymeep!

Istanbul Is very beautiful city. Nice photo shots! #9 Pic made your new friend absolutely excellent click. Thanks for sharing your unpredicted travel experience.

Cheers! Hey i had a question.

I want to come in Greece to study. Will you help me in this matter?

Unfortunately I am not living in Greece, so I can't help you.
surf on this website http://www.studyingreece.edu.gr/ maybe u will find some useful info! good luck @nirob

Foarte fain sejur, Alexandra. Bravo.
Ca sa nu mai zic de poze...
La mai multe postari. Felicitari :D

Multumesc @dreamsy! Mult succes si tie. >:D<

Multumesc ! ^_^

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @alexandraioana26 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=alexandraioana26
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-totally-unpredicted-visit-to-istanbul


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Congratulations @alexandraioana26! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63155.22
ETH 3108.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85