You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ok I get it, the education system is broken. What are you doing about your learning though?

in #travel7 years ago

That's was a good read. I think these ideas are floating in the zeitgeist at the moment, and there's much to recommend them. I was always self-taught, but the things I learned at university are hard to learn by oneself I think. For example people outside the university will tend to read the things that agree with their point of view. They will not read things that disagree with them, or will always postpone them til it's too late. Also you don't have someone meticulously cross-examining your opinions/essays/work, challenging your thinking. Yes, people can do that online, I guess. But it's always superficial pub-level talk, and you can just shut them out. At uni, you hear what your professor has to say, you become more self-critical, you learn the proper skills of debate rather than the adjective-bashing that goes on online most times. I think at least I personally learned things at uni that I couldn't learn by myself, or that would take a long long time. Also people have said things to me like "before I did a PhD, I didn't know how to think; I thought I did, but I didn't". There's a lot of university-hating going on out there at the moment, and then there's people who have the exact opposite feelings, and it makes me wonder why that is, whether it's because of the different institutions and curricula, disciplines, countries, or just people being able to profit from different kinds of teaching methods, some more hands on than others, etc.

Sort:  

As to the first point: is the stuff you learn at university the stuff you should learn ?
I agree that a major danger of unchallenged thinking is the lack of critical thinking. But I don't think and universities are necessarily good at developing that capacity either , judging by the output of the system ...

| think it depends where you are and which system, but my point of view is that you can't assume anymore that university level stud lies and degrees are universally beneficial anymore. Many people are in university that should not be. It was too often prescribed as a standard formula to achieve "Success" in life and a lot of people found out the hard way it is not a panacea...

is the stuff you learn at university the stuff you should learn ?

The "should" should not feature in the search for knowledge! We must trust that seeking knowledge in itself will bring good things. People who want utility from their schooling should attend trade schools.

I don't think and universities are necessarily good at developing that capacity either , judging by the output of the system

People say this, but I don't know what they mean exactly. In my mind, the universities came up with the best ideas, like, ever! Newton and Einstein are the more classic cases, the internet (well, it was government-sanctioned) and DNA are more modern examples. Even when something is invented outside of a university, it's usually by a person who went to university. I don't know, maybe this is like the argument that says "most geniuses were men". I.e. the university is such a staple, that chances are people who invent good stuff are going to attend a university.

you can't assume anymore that university level stud lies and degrees are universally beneficial anymore. Many people are in university that should not be. It was too often prescribed as a standard formula to achieve "Success" in life and a lot of people found out the hard way it is not a panacea...

I can agree with that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44