From Brooklyn to the Jungle - Colombia

in #travel6 years ago

30629522_175129076634353_1291963730715738112_n (1).jpg

I once hated my life so much and thought I had no purpose. I have had to experience and play many different roles and characters to find my true self. I sought for happiness in the external world not realizing the majestic world that lives inside of me. So my journey has brought me from the concrete jungle of Brooklyn New York to the real jungles of Cocorna, a small town in the mountains some 2 hours from Medellin, Colombia.

Once upon a time ago I was a 20 year old kid working for a Brokerage Firm located in Wall Street. It took me almost 20 years to discover what it is that really brings me happiness. I turned in my fancy brand name dress attire in exchange for a more casual attire and rubber boots. I exchanged working in buildings made by the hands of man for the mountains and rivers made by nature. I gave up depending on computers in exchanged for working with my hands and using shovels, pikes, machetes,etc as my real tools of survival.

After many years of studying Christianity, Shamanism, taking plant medicine such as Ayahuasca, Yopo and learning from many other special teachers and gurus I realized who I was. Along with this I spent hours studying and watching documentaries of all subjects related to life on this planet. Travel and nature are also great teachers and has also connected me with people from all walks of life who have played a role in my transformation.

This life is like a movie or theater and at any moment you can choose to change or switch characters once you get tired of the empty role you have been playing. It is just a matter of changing your mind and sending yourself a different message then the one you have been sending. This change of thought has been vital for me to finally see the me that I knew I could always be.

At the end of the day you are your own teacher. What I realized I was looking for in others or wanted others to teach me was really a reality inside of me that I just need to accept and be thankful for. To be truly happy one must be happy with oneself and trust oneself above and beyond what anyone tells you. Don't let anyone or anything get in the way of what you want. If you and I put our focus in the right place then nothing can stand in our way of achieving our greatest dreams and more.

Blessings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58077.92
ETH 2457.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37