Exploring Budapest - The city of fascinating elegance

in #travel7 years ago

Spreading across the banks of the Danube, this is really two towns in one. Buda on one side with the Castle Hill and monuments that remind of the country's glory days, and the flat side of Pest which is economic center.

After a two-day visit back in September I fell in love with the city and decided to spend a week there during the holidays and explore it. It is only 5-hour drive from Belgrade so getting there was pretty easy.

One of the first things you notice is the fascinating architecture of the buildings, bridges and monuments with wide range of styles varying from ancient Roman to modern and contemporary. Some of the most well-known landmarks include impressive neo-gothic Parliament building, Chain bridge, St. Stephen's Basilica and Heroes' square.

And yes, there is a lot of tourists in Budapest, especially around holidays so taking photos can be quite challenging (Unless you enjoy shooting street photography; more on that in my next post).

First thing that greeted me after I hopped off the bus was this beautiful sunset

Once you are there, there are some spots like Chain Bridge and the Parliament building you have to see right away. I took my tripod with me, went down to the river and waited for the blue hour to take some long exposure shots.

Shoes on the Danube river bank - memorial near the Parliament building on the Pest side to honor the people who were killed by fascists during World War II. They were ordered to take off their shoes and shot at the edge of the river which carried their bodies away.

Buda Castle

Parliament building from up close

Few photos from the beautiful Margaret Island located in the middle of Danube and connected to both sides of the city through a Margaret bridge. It's mostly covered with parks, gardens and perfect for recreational activities with long rubber-coated running track so you could see a lot of people jogging even with such cold weather.

St. Stephen's basilica, another landmark that looks beautiful from every angle.


Let's pause here and leave something for the next post. If this made you consider visiting Budapest, let me know. :)

All photos taken with Fuji x100f


As always, thanks for watching! If you enjoyed this post, you are welcome to upvote, comment and resteem it. Also make sure to follow @alcibiades so you don't miss my future posts.

Sort:  

I’ve been considering it for years. You’ve actually made me pine! Oh that architecture. But my favorite has got to be the S👞👟👠S. 😊

I believe you would enjoy it a lot! :)

Putting it on my Steem Dream list.

All of the shots were beautiful. I love the bridges in day light, sunset and the blue hour ones are amazing.

The architecture is amazing....Budapest has quite a history - those shoes on the river edge made me pretty sad. I still can't get past the cruelties we show one another.

You shared such an array of photos it's hard to talk about each one. You have talent for doing a photo essay without too many words as each photo tells the story.

Thanks, @countrygirl! Indeed everything about it is fascinating - bridges, architecture, history, people..

I'm glad you noticed, I love letting the photos do most of the talking. Nice that it resonates with you. :)

Ah, yes! You remind me of the beauty of Budapest all over again! I've been to the city for a week and loved it! Your pictures are gorgeous, I look forward to your follow-up post. (And might look into my archives what pictures I took again in Budapest myself...)

I'm glad you enjoyed these! :) Budapest is a beautiful city indeed.

I really didn't know anything about Budapest, so thank you for capturing and sharing the beauty! I just love the lighting in the castle photographs. 😊

Thank you for checking it out. :)

Yeah! Wow, I can see why you love it so much. So many places of beauty and different kinds. The shoes are such a moving and powerful memorial. And you've captured amazing things with different light. Glad you're back from your holiday. I missed your inspiring photos.

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed this little glimpse of Budapest. :)

So many beautiful photos @alcibiades! Yes, they do make me want to visit Budapest. I particularly like the ones of the bridge, specially photo 6 :). Stunning!! Thank you for posting them :)

Mine is number 6 also the best, 7 is very close after. Ouuu, Great post, I am so happy when I see someone is doing their best here on steemit, not just some snapshoot and empty words.

Thanks, Abigail! The bridge is so beautiful, I could walk around it and across it the whole day and just take photos from every angle. :)

You have some cool architectural pictures right there, I really enjoyed the night and low light shots with all those bright facades and deep shades!

I can't decide if it's more beautiful during day or night! Such an amazing architecture.

European architecture is to die for!
Mine proof, not just word

Absolutely. Great shot!

Yeah exactly! I'll be uploading some photography work too :)

i'm planning to go to budapest in spring time. it's "just around the corner" from where i live (well, pretty much - 4 hours train ride). nice post!

I believe it's beautiful in spring and plan to visit then as well. Have a great time when you go there! Btw, Vienna is also one of the places I wanted to visit soon. Do you recommend? :)

Definitely! wait till it's spring time and everything starts to bloom :-) if you come in summer you can also spend the day swimming in a side arm of the danube - i recommend it :-)

Very cool! I definitely want to go at some point! I'm in Dublin right now traveling solo -- definitely plan to travel more soon!

Wow great! How is Dublin? I would really like to visit there.
Make sure to come to Budapest at some point, it's really beautiful. :)

Fantastic photos... just pure art...

Thanks! Glad you like them. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81