You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Surviving 15 mile hike on a spoonfull of peanut butter

in #travel7 years ago

Excellent post! I would love to hike the Appalachian Trail one day.
I would recommend learning how to forage and what you can eat in nature before the next trip.
Glad that lady came prepared and was generous.

Sort:  

Thanks, glad you liked it! Yeah well foraging is easier said than done... ever seen "Into the Wild"? Yikes. Anyway you should totally do it, or if it's easier, make a day or two and hike somewhere local over the weekend. So refreshing to unplug from technology, even for a couple days.

I go camping every summer and love the wilderness. However I need to get in shape before a major hike!
You're right foraging is more difficult than it sounds. It also may have been a waste of time when it was a crucial thing. It's good to know however so you can keep your eye out and maybe spot something along the way.

Sure, the more you know the better, although to be honest I don't think the majority of AT hikers (or most hikers for that matter) are familiar with what can be foraged. Doesn't mean we shouldn't know though!

I am from alaska... that guy from into the wild ate like the only poisonous berry in the AK! Nice story I have always wanted to hike the appalachian trail. Although I have been out in the woods/ocean/upriver with no food and I get really grumpy :) oh and way to go at the buffet! bet it felt sooooo good

Oh really, wow, talk about bad luck :/ Haha yep well this story was written by my buddy but I went with him another time on the AT (for a week) and we did have a buffet at the end... you better believe it was the most delicious food I've ever experienced in my life :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44