Mt. Mago, “Is it really a beginner’s trek?”

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_4172.JPG

Hi steemians! It has been months since I last posted here, been busy with my new job but then I still write poems but never posted one. Lol anyways, I’ll be writing a blog about our “Long Trek” last Sunday. So here it is..

received_2083756788318593.jpeg
Boundary Stone

IMG_4105.JPG
Resting on that boundary stone - Mt. Mago

Mt. Mago is located in Carmen, Cebu. In there found a boundary stone in which divides the property of Carmen, Danao and Tuburan. It is estimated more or less a 9.6km walk (based on my phone’s Health App). The mountain has more on grasses than trees so you should wear proper suits coz you’re more expose to the sun’s heat. It’s advisable to trek in dawn, so you can arrive there and watch the sunrise and the sea of clouds. Unfortunately, we arrived late. But anyways, it’s all worth it!

“About our trek.”

So before we go there, my best friend search it on the internet. It was called “the beginner’s trek”. It was told it’s just a 30-min walk but yeah, how ironic it can be when we finished our trail for 4-5hrs. Hahaha they should put some specifics or notes as to what kind of people are applicable in that post. Lol but anyways, it isn’t about how long we’ve took it, it’s about going to the top and finished what we’ve started. Yaaaay!

Going there, we took a bus in North Bus Terminal at 4am, it’s more or less 2hr drive and arrive at the Carmen Market. We took a motorcycle going to the entry point of Mt. Mago and it will take you 30-45mins ride. When we arrived there, we hire a guide “two young boys” to take us there. In the trek experience, the views were amazing, spectacular, breathtaking and all the other adjectives that could describe the place. We witness fogs in every corners of the mountains and even see cows and goats in the trail. We cross 3 more mountains in going there. Both uphill and downhill. It’s a quite challenging trail, if it’s uphill, it’s hard to catch your breath and if it’s downhill, you need to endure the pain in your legs. (It’s been painful for me coz I was in a long trek a week before this trail, from Osmeña Peak to Kawasan).

When we arrived at the top, we saw that boundary stone and above there, all we saw were mountains and the sea in Toledo, Cebu. A feeling of satisfaction is what we feel no matter how long the trail was and after we took that few pictures and embrace the beauty of nature, we decided to go down with the smile marked on our faces. We feel scammed with those “beginner’s trek” description but it’s all worth it. You need to prepare your backpacks, put your shoes on and go there.

Some pics of our trail (taken by my bestfriend and her sister)

IMG_4022.JPG

IMG_4007.JPG

IMG_4082.JPG
Mt. Tagaytay and our two guide :)

On our way down. :)

IMG_4141.JPG

IMG_4156.JPG

IMG_4169.JPG

IMG_4129.JPG

Before I end this blog, I’ll be listing our expenses here:

North Bus to Carmen Market (bus fare): Php 62.00 (aircon)
Carmen to the starting point of Mt. Mago trail (motorcycle fare): Php 100.00
Guide Pay: Php 200.00 (optional)
Starting point of Mt. Mago to Carmen Metro Supermarket: Php 100.00
Carmen Bus Station to North Bus Terminal: Php 45.00 (non aircon)
Extra expenses is for your food and water.

So start your trekking now and go to Mt. Mago, “the beginner’s trek” ironically!

IMG_4080.JPG
Me and my Bestfriend

Here’s a poem that I wrote inspired by my trekking experience. It’s called, “I crave..”

“I Crave..” by ckc

I crave for climbing mountains,
the sea views and the high heavens,
the sun rises with the hope of living,
the fresh air that I hardly breathing.

I crave for a new adventure,
those green trees and the beautiful nature,
they call it home for the wanderers,
I call it escape to being better.

I crave for it's satisfaction,
to reach to the top with unknowing emotion,
is it regret for pain or the joy in what I see?,
I'd rather climb mountains than seeing you closely.

IMG_4063.JPG
“The best view comes after the hardest climb.” -Anonymous

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30