Aria's Adventures #4: Explore the East Side of Maui With Me!

in #travel7 years ago

00.jpg

Hi everyone, and welcome to a new adventure and a new island - Maui! Considered the 2nd largest of the main Hawaiian Islands, it is composed of 2 volcanoes: Mauna Kahalawai in the west, and the famous Haleakalā in the east.

In my next few posts I will be showing you my journey throughout the island, starting with Maui's east side. Let's get to it!


D.T. Fleming Beach & the Kapalua Coastal Trail

10.jpg

Located in northwestern Maui in front of the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua, D.T. Fleming beach was named in memory of the man who originally brought pineapples to west Maui. The water is known to be pretty rough, but that makes it the perfect spot to surf/boogie board/body board (or just to watch).

Because I arrived here fairly early, there weren't that many people around yet! I was able to just sit down, relax to the sound of the ocean, and watch people enjoying themselves.

20.jpg

This beach is also the start of the Kapalua Coastal Trail, which is known to have beautiful views and interesting geological formations. The trail is fairly accessible, as there is a wooden boardwalk part of the way; however, the trail eventually turns into rocky lava beds.

Do you see that mountain in the background? That is actually another island named Molokai. It seems so close, yet so far!

30.jpg

After following the trail for a little bit, I came across a place known as "Dragon's Teeth." This place got its name from the fact that the formations are supposed to look like the teeth of a dragon! Can you see it?

40.jpg

I continued onward, making it about 2/3 of the way to the end. The sun was pretty hot and intense that day, while the breeze off the ocean was very cold. My body didn't know whether to sweat or shiver!

I decided to turn around here and make my way back...but not before I took one last photo! From this vantage point, you can see the gorgeous Oneloa Bay. Since it is such a nice beach, I was surprised I didn't see more people here!

Note to self - come back to this beach next time!


Lahaina

50.jpg

After that nice hike, I decided to explore Lahaina. Once known as "Lele" (meaning "relentless sun") by the Native Hawaiians, it is a town full of history. In the early 1800s, it became the capital of the unified Hawaiian Kingdom, and not long after that, it became a major whaling port.

55.jpg

Nowadays, Lahaina is a very charming community full of restaurants, galleries, and shops. It is so easy to get caught up wandering around like I did, looking at all the artwork by talented artists, and checking out some of the more unique shops.

65.jpg

If you want, you can even have ocean-side dining! I actually got too caught up in exploring the town, that I forgot to eat! Does that happen to anyone else?

70a.jpg

One thing I found particularly interesting about Lahaina is that they pay homage to their whaling history. All around the town you can find these interesting nautical decorations. For me, it was like a mini treasure hunt!

If you every find yourself on Maui, I hope you will check out some of the places that I mentioned. I believe that they are definitely worth the time!


Thank you for taking the time to join me in my adventure! Like always, if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to comment, upvote, resteem, or follow me. All are greatly appreciated! I look forward to seeing you in the next one!

Sort:  

Liked and followed :)

Thank you very much!

Very nice place. Following you now.

Thank you very much! Glad you enjoyed it!

Lahaina looks like a quaint little town @akemirayko. I got the sense the people are very well connected to their heritage there. Thanks for sharing these great travel

Thank you for your comments! Lahaina is a indeed quite quaint! The town really takes great pride in their history. In fact, they have a very extensive historical trail that you can follow!

Awesome I do like learning the history of places, that's one thing I think i important to learn when traveling m

You, once again, presented a wonderful Hawaiian adventure. Your pictures were so beautiful and captured the essence of Maui. The beautiful water, beaches, scenery, and storefronts, makes one long to visit this quaint and lovely island. Your narrative really brought the reader into your adventure story so that we could hear the waves in the ocean, feel the cool breeze and sweat in the hot sun. What more can anyone ask for! Thank-you for putting so much effort and time to create a beautifully written blog. I wish you all the success. Keep posting and growing!

Thank you so much again for your wonderful comments! I'm glad that you enjoyed it and could picture yourself there! That is my goal!

Congratulations @akemirayko! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by akemirayko from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Thank you for a great post! I am always looking forward to it

Thank you so much for your kind words! It is truly appreciated!

This is fantastic. Thank you for the information. :) @akemirayko

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

You're welcome. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53