Life in Oslo Part 7: Random T-bane (Subway) Destinations (Short Film)

in #travel7 years ago

This is my fourth post this week aimed at raising awareness and supporting an awesome project my friend Balázs is working on called Taqanu, which aims to provide blockchain-based banking access to refugees and everyone who might be excluded by the modern financial system. To learn about the project, please click here to see my original post about it.

Østmarka.jpg

I've mentioned before how easy it is to access nature from downtown Oslo via the subway. There are a few stops particularly known for this, such as the 1 line leading up to Frognerseteren and the final stop of the 5 at Sognsvann:

t-bane.jpg

But what about all those other lines spidering out from the city center? Where do they go?

Balázs and I have been on multiple missions to find out. During his recent visit to Oslo, we knew how we wanted to spend the day.

It usually works like this: we meet up at the train station, and get on the next train that passes by, and figure it out from there.

This time, we thought about taking the 3 towards Mortensrud, so we walked from my apartment in Løren to Brynseng (this was about a 40-45 minute walk to give you a relative idea of the size of the network).

There was a problem though - a closed track downtown had the schedule all out of whack, and the notification at Brynseng said the 3 was severely delayed.

No matter, we'll just hop on the 2 when it passes by. So we ended up at Ellingsrudåsen, dropped off in a residential area with apartments and townhouses.

But not far past that and we were already in the woods! In fact, many of the trails were groomed for cross-country skiing - something to remember for next season.

20170226_111735-min.jpg

We weren't there to ski, however. Just to chill in the woods and cook up some warm lunch. We've had some pretty epic meals in the woods, usually involving salmon, clementines and chocolate.

20160514_124045-min.jpg

This time, I stupidly left our sashimi-grade salmon in the fridge at home, so we picked up some emergency rations of smoked trout from the only open store we could find (almost everything is closed in Norway on Sundays).

Combined with some Mr. Lee's ramen and we had, well, probably not one of our best of all times, but it got us through.

20170226_115338-min.jpg

We were on limited time, so we found our way back to the T-bane at the Trosterud station, but not before we stumbled upon several cabins, a lake steaming in the warm sun, and a large lake still well frozen enough for skiing across. There was also a military base in the area - but no photos! The signs were very clear about that.

Below is a quick video showing some of the sights, including our great viewpoint where we ate lunch. If you find yourself in Oslo and looking for nature sometime, definitely consider a T-bane ride out to this area, the gateway to Østmarka.


Adventure Every Day is a travel & exploration channel started in 2016. In addition to the Steemit blog, I post short films of my adventures to the Adventure Every Day YouTube channel. Please follow and subscribe if you enjoy the content, and upvote this post to help me help Taqanu!

alt text

Sort:  

Great post! The adventure is not always far away! Upvote and resteem for this post!

Thank you kindly pipurilla!

I always wanted to live in Scandinavia. You guys have it all :)

Thanks buzzbeergeek, come visit us! I could take you to some fun bars in Oslo - be prepared to pay €10 per beer though. That's the downside here. Oh and it snowed 2 days ago lol.

I've heard about your bizarre income levels! :D Give me some more time on Steemit and I'm good.

Yes the average income is pretty high to compensate for the high prices and taxes. I commented a bit about that on this post: https://steemit.com/topten/@joseph/top-ten-cities-in-the-world-by-monthly-income

I wish you all the best on Steemit and hope you make it up here sometime! Your blog is really great and I can tell you are on the right track for big success here.

Thanks for the encouragement! I dabble in a few topics. I am trying to make my reviews a light read. ;)

You're welcome my friend. Also, I was certain I was following you since I've read so many of your posts, but apparently I caught them all through Steemit chat. Fixed that problem though, now you'll be in my feed as well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62149.46
ETH 2438.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68