Exploring Berlin with the DJI Osmo Mobile | Adventure Every Day Episode 8

in #travel8 years ago

Brandenburg Gate.jpg

When we arrived to Oliver's parents house on the outskirts of Berlin, there was a "present" waiting for us: the new DJI Osmo Mobile. The Osmo Mobile is a 3-axis gimbal that allows you to insert just about any smartphone for recording of incredibly smooth, cinematic-feeling film footage. It also comes with a mount for GoPro cameras, which is what I had with me, so when Oliver offered to let me try it out first while exploring the town with @jilliankelsey, I said, "uh...yes please!"

Disclaimer: I am in no way affiliated with DJI, just a user of some of their products.

Despite an early mishap with catching the bus into the city (I was far too distracted with this cool new contraption to be paying attention to anything else), we found our way and began seeing the sights. After walking around for a while, we couldn't help but take a tour on one of the many boats cruising up and down the Spree River. I figured it would be a good way to cover some territory and get some interesting film shots.

Berlin of course has had some troubled times in its history, and you can't escape the reminders of it as you explore - the remnants of the wall, Brandenburg Gate, the Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe, etc, etc. But today it is a beautiful city with a peaceful vibe. At least it was on the cool, colorful fall days that we were there.

Berlin is actually a very large city in terms of physical area, so despite that it will have the largest population of an EU city once Brexit is complete, it contains a surprisingly high amount of parks and green spaces. We even had to travel through some forests and farms on the bus route into the city center.

I really wanted to capture the peaceful vibe we got from the city in my film, and I think I managed to do so. I was pleased with the result anyways. Hope you enjoy and let me know in the comments!


Adventure Every Day is a travel & exploration channel started by Oliver Koch and Mike Voellmecke. In addition to the Steemit blog, we post weekly short films of our adventures to our Adventure Every Day YouTube channel. You can also find us on Facebook, and be sure not to miss Oliver's incredible photography on Instagram.

alt text

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50