A Month In Nepal - Day 1

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

When I originally posted this on my blog it attracted a massive wave of attention and the hashtag #aMonthInNepal began making its way around the internet. Certainly not viral in any headline-grabbing sense, but enough to make me smile when some young woman in India jumped on social media and found me to say 'Thanks for reminding me of my family in Kathmandu.'

It's those little things that bring a smile to my face in these instances. So if this inspires you to go and have your own adventure, on your own terms, then I've had a little win too. So in the spirit of wanting to support this amazing platform, and to bring something of value to you, I'd like to share the first installment of "A Month In Nepal". Enjoy.

A Month In Nepal - Day 1

Welcome to an exciting addition to Living The Bucket List in A Month In Nepal. Come with me as we explore some of the unique experiences that can be had as you wander through the Land of the Gods.

A Month In Nepal will take you through the craziness of the bustling streets of Thamel, the sticky jungles of Chitwan, the breathtaking views of Annapurna from Pokhara, the World Heritage charm of Bhaktapur, touching the clouds in Nargakot, and the complicated journey to Kodari.

Join me as we discover when is the best time of year to travel, what are some of the significant festivals and unique experiences, which foods you have to try, the absolute must-see places, key things no one seems to tell you about the culture, and some of the curious details of the history.

After traveling across Nepal both pre and post the April 2015 Earthquake, being stuck in landslides, scammed by local con-artists, and eaten alive by bugs I have a love for this place that I didn't think was possible.

Come with me as we begin shortly after touching down at Tribhuvan International Airport...Untitled-14.jpg Untitled-2-4.jpgUntitled-15.jpg

Originally posted on my blog at Living The Bucket List and shared here to add value to the Steemit Community.

Sort:  

Hi!

Great post and photos! Nepal is close to my heart and spent a great time there. Like you, I also posted about Nepal and got the biggest compliment from steemit community. Hoping to see more of your Nepal post.

Thank you @suitcasemama! Where would you say the fondest memories are for you in Nepal?

A lot! Just like you I came post earthquake,I was there with my husband for his work and I volunteered at an NGO that works with people with disabilities. I spent a lot of time with them and built friendship even if we cant understand each other. No eaten alive by bugs yet! hahaha Where you there for work?

Our trip was mainly for pleasure, but it soon turned in to a deeper expereience as we became more invlved with the locals. It was great to see people there helping out, but Kathmandu was not the same - a ghost town after 9pm.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85