๐ŸŽ‚ Exploring Cape Town, South Africa - ๐ŸŽ‚ Charly's Bakery ๐ŸŽ‚

in #travel โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

IMG_3522.JPG

Cape Town is known to be a foodie hub. There are so many great restaurants and eateries, and some have been around for years, literally becoming tourist hotspots. ๐ŸŽ‚Charly's Bakery is one of these legendary places that I instantly think of when I think of my Mother City. I love it because it stays authentically Capetonian, and not crazy touristy.


Charly's is known for it's gorgeous cheesecakes, customized cakes and other sweet goodies. They make tons of cakes all day, every day. Believe it or not, I went there of the first time this year, after ten years of living in Cape Town to buy my boss a cheesecake for his birthday, and since then, I am hooked! If it's anyone's birthday or a special occassion, I make a bee-line to Charly's Bakery.

This is the cheesecake I buy for my boss on his birthday
IMG_3512.JPG

Charly's is a family business and was started in the '80's. I think it became quite famous, country-wide, when they started their reality show "Charly's Cake Angels", which follows the Charly's girls around on their day to day lives taking orders and building masterpieces. Very similar to the American show "Cake Boss"

IMG_351twst1.jpg

Charly's is located in District Six which is an area previously allocated to mixed race people during apartheid, so it is also a really great area to check out if you are exploring Cape Town. The District Six museum is in the same area, and there are also a lot of cool bars to visit.

IMG_3520.JPG

The interior is quite quirky and cute, but it's more of a take out vibe than an actual coffee shop. It's set in a beautiful old Victorian building, as most places are in Cape Town's CBD. They also make some pretty good coffee.

IMG_3515.jpg

Check out the short teaser below for their show "Charly's Cake Angels"

Wanna hear more about Cape Town, and/or South Africa? Let me know in the comments! You can also follow my personal Steemit blog by clicking on my footer below!

Many Mews!

Authored by: @princessmewmew

discord.gif

Sort: ย 

Hey @adsactly, this place looks awesome! I've been to Cape Town twice and loved it, next time I go to Cape Town I'll definitely check it out!

it is truly an awesome place! Glad you liked my post ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

@princessmewmew

whoops! didn't see the authored by part! great post and you earned yourself a new follower from a compatriot!

Oh cool! Thanks ๐Ÿ˜ Where did you stay when you were in CT?

The first time was at Club Mykonos and the second time, I can't really remember, but my favourite experience had to be Table Mountain, the air on top was unbelievable.

Aha! Table Mountain is pretty cool. You can go up for free on your birthday, so that's a great way to celebrate! Welcome to Steemit, I see you are new! Do you have discord? Join us in the Adsactly discord channel!

Thanks! I'll be sure to check it out

Hi @princessmewmew are you south African? I have been to pretoria and a few other places, nice write up.

Hi @josediccus, I am indeed! Living in the mother city (Cape Town). When/why were you in SA?

I went to a place called kwazulu natal, i went to visit my girlfriend, sadly we broke up days later, that was two years ago. Well its a fine place actually, where exactly do you stay?

Oh sorry to hear! I am actually travelling to a small town called Howick, which is in KZN in a few weeks! I am from Cape Town ๐Ÿ’–

Nah. Dont be, it happens everyday.

Wow great im glad, wish i was still in KZN, i will follow your blog immediately.

I tried joining adsactly but nobody was willing to help me.

No! Try again! You can DM me when you there!

Well okay, thank you i will try. Its a honour knowing you.

Looks like a awesome spot. And yes I'd like to hear more about your adventures In cape town and south Africa.

Great stuff! Thanks for the support, my fellow #thealliance friend ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜

Have another restaurant post lined up for later this week! ๐Ÿ˜˜

Thanks for your support,
๐Ÿ’– @princessmewmew

Looks like a lot of fun. Did you buy any cakes?

Yes! Bought some of the โ€œpoopโ€ cupcakes! They were delishhh!

Glad you enjoyed my post
๐Ÿ’“ @princessmewmew

That's great! Have you ever been to Cake Boss?

Hi Katrina, no, I havenโ€™t! Do you mean Buddy Valastroโ€™s Cake Boss?

Yes, I've always wanted to go there to meet him in person and of course, try the desserts.

I'll have to check it out if I end up in slaapstad in December.

Lol @ Slaapstad! We are very much alive thank you!

Glad you enjoyed my post
๐Ÿ’“ @princessmewmew

The desserts look AMAZING! Awesome wiriting, @princessmewmew

Thank you sweet heart! ๐Ÿ’“

The Cake looks really Yummy. The atmosphere of this place is awesome . You made a Nice travel indeed.

Thanks so much for your lovely comment, glad you enjoyed my post!

๐Ÿ’– @princessmewmew

That's My pleasure.
I invited You to check my post if you have time. Hope You will find them good.

Yummy and beautiful cakes. I love South Africa although I haven't been in years. Cape Town was gorheous when I visited (on a press trip, but the best 3 weeks of my life! I did three photo safaris and vsisited most of the cities and the garden route with amazing guide. How lucky was I? If I ever get back I'll check otu Charlie's as they are very talented. Thanks for sharing and will follow to see more.

Great! Thank you for your very genuine comment! Cape Town is indeed a gem ๐Ÿ’– . I actually hail from up the Garden Route, I am so glad you got to explore that part of my beautiful country.

Lots of love
๐Ÿ’– @princessmewmew

You are very welcome. I onlycomment honestly and I loved the garden route, every step of the way, ony way I'll put up a little trafvelogue about it. How nice of you to send love. Sending love back. Following for more photos.

Hi @adsactly, Iโ€™ve Never been to Cape Town But Your Post Really entices Me to put that on My Bucket List. It sounds amazing from Your description of being a โ€œFoodie Hubโ€as well as an Historical Site.
Happy Traveling!!

You definitely should visit! it's an incredible place. Glad you enjoyed my post

xx ๐Ÿ’– @princessmewmew

that place looks like a castle or a manor thats rad!
ive always wanted to go to S.Africa

Most of South Africa has very Victorian style buildings, especially Cape Town and Johannesburg CBD's. Cape Town is especially cool!

Glad you enjoyed my post!

x @ princessmewmew

nice, i wanna visit and do a bunch of graffiti all over the place there and check everything out!

Cape Town has some awesome graffiti! Iโ€™ll do a post on it soon!

ya id love to see it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80