Magical Majuli

in #travel7 years ago

DSC_0076.JPG
Prior to my visit to Majuli, I had no idea that a trip can be of any spiritual significance to someone who was as remotely religiously motivated as I was….everything was perfect until I entered this massive hall in Auniati Xattra (Xattra is a Monastery in Assamese Vaishnavism) where a few aged disciples were singing hymns in the praise of God. Then and there I entered into a state of tranquility…I stood rooted on the spot for what seemed like eternity…It’s not like I have not visited temples or churches before…I have also listened to some lovely hymns dedicated to the Almighty prior to this….but this was…something different…perhaps there was something in the voice of the disciples….perhaps there was an immense power in the vibrations of their vocal chords that held me there like a magnet holds a ferrous object…I felt like I had been hypnotized…overpowered…by a sudden burst of calmness that this voice emitted…I did not want to move…was it only me?…For my friend seemed absolutely normal....he was in fact literally pushing me out of this great hall…I really don’t know what had happened to me there but I remained spellbound for hours even after we had left the place…The local folklores and and the skillful craftsmenship of the locals kept me mesmerised. Visit this place, once in your lifetime, if you truly want to know the meaning of peace, harmony and tranquility.DSC_0028.JPG

Majuli is located in the Jorhat district of Assam in North East India. The largest river island in the Brahmaputra river flowing across the state of Assam and among the largest river islands in the world, Majuli is also a treasure trove of authentic Assamese culture, heritage and hospitality. The sattras present there have preserved their unique lifestyle, art and craftsmenship across centuries. Being abundant in natural water bodies and the tropical climate ensures that the place is teeming with birds- local and migratory.
DSC_0072.JPG

The nearest airport to Majuli is Rowriah Airport at Jorhat which has flights operating from Delhi, Guwahati and Kolkata. The Nearest railhead are Jorhat and Mariani. From Jorhat, a ride to the ferry port (Nimati Ghat) takes about half an hour. The ferry ride takes about an hour, but the journey is worth it. You may get the glimpse of the fabled gangetic river dolphins, if you are lucky.

The best time to visit is during the month of October-November when the fabled Raas Festival is celebrated here. Open air dramas are organized, that are a sight to behold.

There is no problem regarding accomodation as the sattras will host any guest visiting them. Staying in the sattras is the best way to witness the culture of the place. Numerous guest houses and resorts are also opening up in Majuli.DSC_0049.JPG

Sort:  

Hey @adity89 welcome to steemit.
I have upvote and followed you. so, please follow me.

Okay bro...let me check...

your photography is awesome. Upvoted.You can do the same for me @impressions.

Thanks bro..

Absolutely love this piece!! Please join us in our steemit bloggers community on discord so we can help you to grow adequately on this platform. We are a team of people that actively support one another. If you are interested, you will find the link at the footer of all my posts. Would really love to have you with us. 😎👌

Thanks @jaynie...sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57530.32
ETH 2439.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37