A Crazy Trip to NOLA

in #travel7 years ago

One of my best friend's birthday was a couple weeks ago. Unfortunately, he lives 10 1/2 hours away in New Orleans, LA.

So, my other two best friends, Lisa and Tavie, and I decided we wanted to take a crazy weekend trip to visit Micah for his birthday. We planned for two months, coordinating with his family and saving every penny possible for gas money.

Finally the weekend came.

We all had to work Friday until 5:30, so after putting gas and oil in the car and feeding ourselves, we finally hit the road at 6:15. We allotted 3 1/2 hours for each person to drive so the strain would be even on each of us, and I took the first shift. My shift ended, and I was still WIRED. I knew I wouldn't be able to sleep yet, so I told the other two to keep sleeping and I'd wake them when I needed to switch off. I ended up driving 6 1/2 hours, all the way down into Mississippi, before Lisa made me switch off with her. I was awake with her the next two hours before I finally conked out.

We reached Micah's house at 4:45 a.m. Saturday morning, and his mom and sister were outside waiting for us.

I should probably mention that he had no idea we were coming.

Anyway, we got sat down in the on the living room couch and his sister went to wake him up. He walked in the door behind us, and walked right back out without saying anything.

Apparently, he thought he was hallucinating and needed to go back to sleep.

Once persuaded that we were really there, he re-entered and remained speechless for a good two minutes with the biggest grin on his face while he hugged us and rubbed his eyes in disbelief. His surprise was perfect.

Saturday afternoon was spent reveling in a delicious Cajun shrimp boil with his close friends and family,

(best shrimp I've ever tasted in my life)

then that evening, he and his sister took us on a tour of the French Quarter!

We visited Jackson Square,

and ate beignets at the Cafe Du Monde!

Sunday morning we attended church with his family, then hit the road a little after 12 and reached school at midnight on Sunday, each of us having to be at work at 7:30 the next morning.

Our trip was crazy, almost sleepless, expensive, and exhausting, but seeing the look on Micah's face when he recognized us made every bit worth it.

Sort:  

Wow this is amazing! Thanks for the tour! @addijayne0911

Congratulations @addijayne0911! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @addijayne0911! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.67
ETH 2465.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41