You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Norway Road Trip Stop 4: A beautiful surprise | Adventure Every Day

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Awesome - Norway is definitely near the top of my travel list (not far from SW England).

“It’s not about the destination. It’s about those beautiful moments along the way.” Couldn't have said it better myself.

Not sure when Reinheimen was uncovered from the glacier. I would guess sometime around the end of the Ice Age (11,700 years ago).

I did find this cool article, though, discussing all of the cool artefacts uncovered at Reinheimen (including a 1300 year-old-ski): https://thornews.com/2014/10/09/found-1300-year-old-ski-and-6000-year-old-arrows-in-reinheimen/

Sort:  

Thank you so much! And I do hope you make it to Norway! Let me know if you make any plans and want some tips, or a tour around Oslo if you come this way :)

Awesome - will do - thanks :D

If you're interested in going to Norway, flight tickets are generally very cheap from the UK to Norway, so pack a tent and you can go here and check out the nature for very cheap ;)

Great advice! Norway is of course an expensive country, but as you point out, there are ways to do it withot breaking the bank!

Yeah, absolutely. However, I think it can be really difficult for tourists to know how to visit Norway without spending a shitton of money. What I generally suggest is to bring a tent (because hotels are very expensive) and only buy food from the supermarkets (no eating out), and it could actually be pretty cheap.

Very true! I suggest the same to people coming, and try to practice it myself as much as possible!

Wow! That ski is really something. Probably one of the coolest artifacts I've seen here, and I've been to a lot of museums haha. Thanks for sharing that, as well as taking a guess at the trivia. It is possible that you are right, but the Ice Age held out a little longer up here, at least according to the sign at the park, so it was a bit more recent than 11,700 years ago that the ice retreated in this region.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43