Sri Lanka, the place where I'll return

in #travel7 years ago

So, after visiting Europe with its fancy baroque and rococo arhitecture style, me and my partner decided to go far away, to discover a hidden beauty called Sri Lanka.
Our taxi was a tuktuk, the best choice for small distances. The tuktuks are like M&M candies, spread all over the island.

The vibe was incredible. Everybody was smiling, nobody was angry.
We've been to an elephant orphanage, Pinawalla, where even they have a schedule, for the turist entertainment, those beautiful creatures seemed to be happy.

The climbing for the sacred rock fortress, Sigiriya was really nice. The view of a Buddha statue was breathtaking. Some thieves tried to stole my bananas from my purse. Just kidding, the monkeys were quite funny. Little bastards!

We took the bus and I was shocked. Even though it was really crowded, the locals were offering their seat. We'even received some candies and they thanked us for visiting their country.
I don't know if it is because of their main religion, Buddhism, but the people from Sri Lanka seemed to share their kindness through each pore, glance, smile, word.
On the streets you could inhale incense aroma, as they purify the place.
We've visited a tea factory where there were over 50 types of black tea. I've learned the process and that most of the labour is done manually!

The temples were something that I cannot describe. You must go there and try to put all your monsters away and just enjoy the peace, the habits!

Then take the train and relax at the beach, drink a coconut juice.
The trains are amasing. Even they are poor, made of wood, each local was wearing clean clothes and each one of them was open minded and willing to talk to you.

Sri Lanka is a place were I will return and make more memories for my poor and fool soul.
Words cannot contour its beauty!

Sort:  

Really nice story! Sounds to good to be true! :)

I dare you to discover it, @djvidov!

Great story!

Thanks, @mineru! I just a real story from Indian Ocean:)

I'll discover it someday @adalovelace!

Congratulations @adalovelace! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63441.26
ETH 2477.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64