Yangon's Crumbling Colonial Buildings

in #travel7 years ago

After traveling quite a bit for the past years, I realised myself that I was looking too much for far away . While traveling on south east Asia, sometimes I was trying to find places or visiting places that in my home city, I won't even bothered to go.

So during last year on my visit back home, I decided to go around the city and take some photographs .

My family thought I was crazy . It was kind of a fail attempt as I got lazy and embarrassed going around myself with a camera.

So here is some of the pictures that I got ...

Of all Southeast Asian cities, Yangon has the highest number of colonial era buildings. Hundreds of late 19th century structures remain on an area of several square miles in the downtown area. But it's a shame that many of the colonial era buildings were abandoned and are now in a bad state of repair.


Traffic in the city was terrible


Most of the old buildings used to be government buildings but now most has been abandoned.


These are not colonial buildings , but I thought I will just share a few pictures from the downtown.

Hope you enjoy it.

Sort:  

I want to visit Myanmar one day with my friend but he tells me if he even land in Burma, he is going to get shot or arrested. Something about his family being a rebel back then. Maybe he just doesn't want to visit. The colonial buildings looks like it's going to last another hundred years though.

you are probably right , sometimes we give ourselves a thousand excuses thing that we don't want to do, even myself .:) I hope you get to visit there some day. Bagan is so amazing..

I like how seeing other parts of the world makes you realize what's special about wherever you live. Though I also feel weird lugging my camera around at home, too, haha. Those buildings are beautiful!

agree , People think I might be tourist again and again I just look like them also. thank you for stopping by.

nice picture, following you to see more.

Wonderful! Historical place and the world's most culturally rich country. Be thank full to that and preserve this structure for the sake of the next generation. This is a rare encounter, most of the old structure now are already demolished.

thank you. It is sad to see no one appreciate them.

A problem of everyone, no one appreciate the beauty and historical value of old structure. They don't understand that our future was written in the past.

i upvoted your post plz upvote me back!!

Very good article. Thanks for Myanmar.

This submission has made it on the @MutuWhale MutuList!

so beauty

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40