Traveling to the Great Indian Desert | Part 2 Visiting the sand dunes

in #travel7 years ago (edited)


Dear steemit friends,

Happy Wednesday! I know the market is still down so lets not think about that for now..At least for me, let me relive through the happy moments.

Today I want to share with you a video of my first 's sand dunes experiences. I would recommend to watch the video first! Although there is no talking by me , but I hope you can traveled through the video.

This video is personal favorite of mine and I think I watched more than a hundred times. :D

After I had my lunch from Part1 at the hotel rooftop, I went to the lobby to check for the trip to sand dunes. After all, it's the reason I visited Jaisalmer, to visit the sand dunes. They told me that I could go today as there were no guests for tomorrow trip. Although I was exhausted , I decided to join.

Our group consisted of 2 Israeli travelers ( who quit their job to travel the world) , 3 Japanese whom 2 of them also quit their job to travel, one of them said the life in Japan was so stressful that he couldn't get away to travel.. and me!

We were going to sand dunes thatwas less popular and it required to travel slightly longer than the usual popular sand dune of Thar desert.

First we visited a local village , one of the Japanese had a very big camera so kids were curious.

The highways was good in condition , but the road was mostly empty.

Finally we arrived to a stop, where we met up with the locals and get ourselves on the camel. The camel was also loaded with the dinner for us.

I was a bit scared for the first ride on camel as I have read some horror stories of someone being dropped while riding. I was telling myself " no way, I am getting on this one" . If you didn't know , I tended to get scared of almost everything.
Finally, I managed to convince myself and got on one.

Camel actually is taller than it look from the photo. Once you are on the top, it's really high.. It's also not so comfortable like horse as the movement of camel make u go back and fort all the times. So you just have to follow him .

We passed through flat deserts and sand dunes and finally made a stop at one location.


We spent the evening on the sand dunes while our camel guide prepare for us dinner. The sand in the sand dunes was particularly very soft and it also get very windy.


Everything was having their own moment in the middle of nowhere and with nothing to get disturbed. It felt really amazing though. And then the sun finally set.

We then went back to our little camp where we had dinner. There were some tiny creatures that bite from the sand so it's not very pleasant, trying to avoid them. I also hear there can be snakes during the hot season.

At night, we had a camp fire and enjoy the starry blue skies. My camera was dying so I didn't get a very good long exposure shot. But here are some that I got from that day. The 4 of us came back to the hotel around 11 pm while the rest continue to spend the night in the sand dunes.

Close shoes are surely a must as the ground has full of spiky trees and spikes, unfortunately I was wearing slippers. What to say, I like wearing slippers.Overall, I really had amazing time and although it seems like a typical tourist thing to do but it surely is worth it and I highly recommend to have this experience on your travel bucket lists.

Thank you for reading , please check out the dtube link to watch the video.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

OMG, camels and horses are my favourite.
Hopefully one day I will ride them.

Camels r awesome although they r Not Super friendly .. hope u get to ride them very soon .

Thank you so much.
Hey I watched your vlog, I really liked the music choice. How and from where do you choose your music?
I had a vlog and planning to upload it to YouTube.

ခရီးသြားေလးေတြျမင္ရတာေပ်ာ္စရာေကာင္းသလို
ကိုယ္လည္းေရာက္ေနသလိုခံစားရတ႔ဲတြက္ေက်းဇူးပါ
ေနာက္လည္းမ်ားမ်ားေဝမ်ွေပးပါေနာ္

hote.. Thank you for watching.

ဓါတ္ပုံရိုက္ခ်က္ အရမ္းလန္းတယ္ video edit လည္း ေကာင္းတယ္ ေနာက္ျပီ အဲ့ေကာင္ျကီး စီးရတာ ေပ်ာ္ဖို့ေကာင္းမယ္ေနာ စားစရာကလည္း အိုးတလုံးအျပည့္ အစုံဘဲေနာ ေပ်ာ္စရာႀကီး

ပဲဟင္းခ်က္နဲ႔ထမင္း , သဲေတာ့ေတာေတာ္ဝင္သြားတယ္..

သဲ မဆလာနဲ႔ခ်က္တဲ့ဟင္းေပါ့

😂 သဲထဲက ထြက္ထြက္လာတဲ့အေကာင္ေတြကို ေရွာင္လင္သိုင္းနဲ႔ေရွာင္ရေသးတယ္ေနာ္ .. Japan ကအကိုေတြကေတာ့ဝိုင္းေမာင္းေပးတယ္ 😜

တရုတ္ကားၾကည့္ျပီ သိုင္းက်င့္ရမယ္ အဲ့ကို သြားမလို့ ဟိဟိ

Well, so many people quitting the job to travel, that's the way of life I feel :D ... I could never got the courage to do it being the only earning member of the family of five, may be one day will come when I will settle in the Himalayas for once and all, till then lets rock on Steemit.

It seems that you visited the Khuri Sand dunes of Jaisalmer because the popular ones among tourists are Sam Sand dunes. You made probably the right choice because over in Sam, it really gets too much crowded sunset. Though I also managed to get some nice sunset pictures and enjoyed my stay with my wife at Sam Sand dunes. We stayed at a hotel complex nearby by and it was beautiful to see the desert in the front.

Yes.. I saw many ppl quit the job to travel . personally I won't do it though cause as much as I like to travel , I also love spending time on my room And bed..
I asked the guy the name and he didn't know in English.. maybe it is the place that u mentioned.

long journey for you, but you didn't tired. you look be happines there with the camel, salut..
regard from indonesia

yes, I was amazed by everything and didn't feel the tiredness. Thank you .

Hey there!! I really like your article and gosh, this is really amazing!! I've seen many travel articles but I haven't yet found any with sand dunes. I love it very much, the view, the vibe it's definitely amazing. Your article definitely make me even more excited about my coming trip to Dubai for the desert safari! Now I literally can't sit still to be experiencing the wonders like you :D

Thanks a lot.. appreciate coming from u have amazing blog urself. Yes desert is amazing, it can give u all sorts of feeling and at the same time feel contented.. the Dubai would be my next desert too.. hehe

Thank you so much for your lovely compliment, that definitely motivates me a lot :) That sounds extremely nice and I recently just spoke to my friend about his experience in Dubai, he mentioned that the desert safari is definitely the highlight of the trip.

Hello, Thank you for sharing your experience, I'm a traveler as a photographer, I love your work, Hope we can be good mates in steemit as followers.

Thanks a lot , I will surely Check out ur posts ..

what Camera that you used to capture the blue sky?

hello! I use canon g7x markII

That looks cool. I did a similar thing in Morocco. I'll have to get my video of that up soon.

you have done it in Sahara ! How cool, I have been dying to go to Morocco but there isn't any cheap flights from here.. hopefully next year I can go.. :D

I hope you can. It's getting quite touristy but it's still pretty awesome.

Thank you.. I am planning to visit on September , fingers crossed 🤞

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84