Country side in Singapore - Visit to Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Dear steemit friends,

Country side in Singapore , really ?

To be honest , if you live near forest or in other part of the world . This post might not be that exciting but I love a place like singapore has so much to offer , not just the concrete jungle of high rise buildings.

So lets follow with me to the largest mangrove forest in Singapore which is located in the far northeast of Singapore. ( apologises on the huge files sizes )

IMG_7313.jpg

How to get there by Public transport?

It is only accesible By bus: Bus number is 925 from Kranji MRT Station.

First the drive passed through beautiful roads through green side of singapore, we passed by planting areas and animals farms.

IMG_7336.jpg

What can we see at the wetland?

The wetland reserve is known for wildlife with tidal ponds and mangrove forests. And it also provides visitors a chance to encounter and admire these animals in their natural habitat. You would see literally monitor lizards sharing the same route with you or even crocodile!

You could also find different types of birds, kingfishers, monitor lizards and water snakes.But since they are in their nature habitat, it's better to have binoculars or sharp eyes.

IMG_7296.jpg

We started the trail here.The size of the park is 202 hectares.

IMG_7165.jpg

As soon as we started walking through this path , we heard magpies chatters , instantly set to the kind of jungle mood. Then we arrived to Wetland center and visitor center.

IMG_7166.jpg

The Visitor Centre has a gallery, which features interactive educational tools such as multimedia games, a live camera s from various areas of the Reserve. We didn't spend the time there that much but to empty my bladders and filled up the water from the water coolers.There were vending machines that you can buy empty water bottle and other insects wipes etc if you ever need one .

IMG_7167.jpg
Is this what the secret garden look like ?

IMG_7171.jpg
Oh, just a bunch of bats chilling!

IMG_7173.jpg

Watch out your path! The most common animal that we saw was the monitor lizard, they were everywhere and also hung out in the middle of the trail . Some of them are huge and a few of them are small.

To say the least, I was terrified, they just crawled too creepily.

IMG_7178.jpg

This small ponds had beautiful lotus flowers where three of the monitor lizards liked to hang out.

IMG_7189.jpg

This is the main bridge at entrance of Migratory Bird Trail. We saw a few people with extremely big lenses to catch the wandering birds. But my camera wasn't good for that, so I didn't have any photos.

IMG_7198.jpg
This is the view of Migratory Bird Trail.. Some of the tiny birds like to hide inside those trees.

IMG_7196.jpg

IMG_7201.jpg
On these observation points, they display the types of birds u can see and their infomation.

IMG_7207.jpg
There were shelters ( hides ) like this along the path.

There is also a tower so we decided to go there. But we were chased by the monkeys. The tiny monkey was pretty aggressive for his sizeIMG_7236.jpg

After getting some rest and view at the ariel tower. We continued to explore the park . There were several of scenic points on the trail.

IMG_7246.jpg

IMG_7253.jpg

There were lots of Mangrove trees exist which are located on both side of the trail. You get to see all those exposed and tangled roots up close.Unfortunately , there wasn't much water this time.

And then...
IMG_7262.jpg

And yes we also find a few of them just sunbathing and chilling!

IMG_7274.jpg

Since it's border by Malaysia, Johor Bahru . You can see the sky line from the ariel tower and this platform .

We saw a few other interesting plants, birds, grasshoppers and ended our day. I hope you enjoy following my visit!

Thank you for reading.let me know in the comment of what you think so that I know what type of posts you like to see more. I also really appreciate the up-vote if you like it and resteem with your friends who might enjoy reading this.

Eint

Sort:  

Hello, @aburmeseabroad!

You are so cute in that dress ;). I would love to visit Singapore!

Hugs.

thank you sweet! :)

hello, my sister, the place you visit is very beautiful, the verdant panoramic is very cool eye. can enjoy the beautiful atmosphere as it is a gift ...thanks

thank you.. glad u enjoy it.

That's what I was thinking. Country side in Singapore, really?

Thanks for showing us that it exists. Looks like you had a lovely day. Be well! :)

Dan

yes.. actually a lot of country side in singapore.. hehe Thank you. Hope you are doing great the same.

It is very unlucky to me because I haven't been able to join the free tour of Singapore at the airport. I now realized how beautiful it is! Great post! Thanks. :)

may be another time ? I heard the free tour are great too! Thank you.

I will be really as early as I can next time. Thank you for reminding me. Cheers!!

I enjoyed scrolling down and seeing each new part of your adventure...almost like I went on the walk with you! Keep up the great work! Beautiful photos
@aburmeseabroad

thank you very much and appreciate your time scrolling down them!

What a beautiful place! So much life there. I love getting out into nature like that. It refreshes the soul. Thanks for sharing!

thank you. it's a very peaceful place.. yes .. refreshes the soul is the way to describe!

Singapore is small, yes, but even after you think you've seen everything there, you discover something new to you. One of the cool parts of a small country.

yes, couldn't agree more!

I love Singapore and i will surely visit by October.. Great content @aburmeseabroad

how exciting! looking forward to your future post.

Oh definitely, just followed and upvoted you now @aburmeseabroad

I have always had this dream to visit singapore for holiday. And believe me the desire grows each and every single day . It's one of those countries that i admire and adore. :)

I hope you get to visit very soon, yes I feel lucky to stay in Singapore and I love it. Thank you for visiting through my post.

It looks beautiful! But those bats 🦇 might have creeped me out haha

yes, I somehow zommed and looked through from my camera and it freaked me out!

Haha I bet that was crazy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63003.41
ETH 3122.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52