Bali travel , what they don't tell you about traveling in bali

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Bali is the place where international celebrities ,the famous youtubers or bloggers go . And your friends who had been there always tell you that it is so beautiful and peaceful , and the people are so friendly.Finally being back from bali a month ago, I thought I share with you why I find Bali to be disappointing and do not like it. These are my thoughts and experiences only and please do not get offended if Bali was one of your favorite destination.
First of all,I love Indonesia and Indonesians , I think they are fun and helpful. And I had my solo trip last year in East Java, it was the experience I will never forget. I was very excited to be back for the second time, but too me bali was a bit overwhelming.

(1)Traffic
I did know about the bad traffic in bali from the colleague, but I didn't realize it was that bad. It is a very big island , and the interest locations are not very near, so it is understanding to take a long drives in order to get to a place you want to go. But the roads are very narrow, it is a touristy island locations, and can you imagine every 2 or 4 persons is having their own private van from all the hotels, guesthouses.It is just too many cars ,and motorcyclists in a small narrow place. The daily traffic reminds me of back home life, and who wants to think of that when you are in a tropical vacations. But I actually think this will solve if you only still in your own villa all the time, but come on; while we are here, we really wanted to see as much as you can, aren't we?

(2)People aren't the nicest
I have heard of the people being so friendly and kind. We met with nice people too, like our car driver and the hotel stuffs, but mostly we met, they weren't what I was expecting. I found they were always trying to take more money from you, I know it's normal. but I was expecting a bit more sincere people , and I did not find one during my trip.

(3)Sellers at Kuta Beach won't leave you alone
This is serious, I have encountered pushy sellers in a place and by far this is the worst.We were trying to have a relax time on the beach before flying off, but they wouldn't leave us alone even after telling No a thousand times.

(4)Monkeys in Uluwatu are really naughty
Please don't wear your expensive sunglasses while you were there to be safe,especially when you walk near to trees area. We were on our own , and we heard a lot of tourists guide informing their guests about the naughty monkeys, we were kind of careful, but unluckily one of us was holding his glasses to wipe and the monkey literally took and ran off. We were able to get help from the people working there, but the glasses was already broken .

(5)Over crowded ubud
Unless you stay in those expensive hotels or resorts, Ubud wasn't nothing like the one I see from social media,for me it was extremely crowded. There are a lot of international brands and shopping markets . But if you are planning to buy souvenirs, buy it in Kuta shopping area, it's much cheaper and easier to bargain.

(6)Knowing where to stay
Bali is a big island and if you are on a short time, definitely plan well for the locations with your itineraries. The whole island is easily accessible but the traffic was so bad and you might end up taking so much time to go from one place to another.

Thank you for reading my first post here.. more travel tips and stories coming soon. Lets get connected

Sort:  

interesting about the people there. it is a beautiful place!

it definitely is a beautiful place.

Come to the Philippines :)

thank you! I have been to cebu and can't wait to go back in the future.. <3

Cebu is legit! Glad you liked it. Try Palawan next time.

Yes and Ican't wait

Congratulations @aburmeseabroad! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @aburmeseabroad! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

i already follow and upvote u
i also steemit myanmar member
plz follow me and upvote me
let's earn together :)

Thanks for connecting

Followed and invoted you.

Welcome to Steemit, you pull off that sideways hat look very well :)

thank you! glad i rocked it. :)

Interesting article! Never been to Bali, but I've always wanted to. Will keep this article in mind!

Thank you. It is amazing place nonetheless.

Done ,vote and comment me back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49