Traveling to Kalpa , A Scenic Village In The Indian HimalayassteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Female Solo Travel Story in India #5

Upon arriving to reckong peo , I would still need to take another bus ride to the village of Kalpa, that was where my accommodation was booked. I was told this bus would be my bus to kalpa but it seemed like there was no sign of leaving. So I went to find a taxi.

Although Reckong Peo is a region that is sparsely populated but it was pretty crowded. There were traffic jam and lots of car for such a place that is located in the middle of nowhere. So I asked a few people that were around some of the car and how much was the price to the village of kalpa , and they said 600 INR or 800 INR ( I am not exactly sure, it was very expensive) . Of course, I wasn't not going to take that Hefty taxi ride.

So I went back again to the local bus which left not long after that. I mean this bus was pretty cool though. It costed me 20 INR ( instead of 800 INR for taxi), which is around US 0.3 cents.

The drove passed through even higher making frequent stops to drop off villagers. The bus was also super fun with full local DJ music blast which made my mood better after the long ass 10 hours bus ride.

It finally arrived to Kalpa, the last stop of the bus. Although there weren't Chinese tourists there, apparently himachal is pretty popular with Israeli , I had no idea why but that's someone told me.

I checked into my 10 USD room ( sorry no photos ). The room was pretty big , decent and clean . And that was the view from my room 's balcony, million dollars view right there .. I would say. The only thing that was a bit disappointing was the weather, it was pretty cloudy and rainy when I was there the whole time . So I could not see the whole mountain ranges on their glory . The highest mountain is called Kinnaur Kailash (6050 meters) and all the mountains peaks remains snowcap all the time.

The next day I went around the villages to explore. There were some hiking options to nearby villages , but the weather became super rainy so I didn't go. There were also lots of lots of apple trees around , actually I had also seen so many of them from the bus for the past few days.The locals here wore traditional green and beige caps for both men and women.

The accommodation at kalpa online were quite limited. I guess you could just come here and find a place to stay or just ask any local to stay at their house. I am sure everyone will give you a bed for a small charge.

I also visited the buddhist monastery nearby, in the morning I could hear the chanting music. It is more than 1000 years old, although the building seemed new. It must have undergone repair and reconstructions.

And as you probably could see I had a small photoshot myself .. It was very beautiful and also very windy so I was getting cold .But the the views were amazing from anywhere.

In short, kalpa is really a charming little village and I enjoyed my stay here..

!steemitworldmap 31.531726 lat 78.252869 long A Scenic Village In The Indian Himalayas d3scr

Sort:  

As always, enjoyed reading your post! A million dollar view indeed, would love to wake up there. How long do you plan to travel for??

Thank you. It's a trip that I made on last August. Kalpa is a place that I would love to go back , but now would be freezing cold though.

beautiful village and nature

hello , yes it is very beautiful , I couldn't capture the beauty so much as I arrived late in the evening and the next day was very cloudy and dark.

I love it when you are in a city with a close backdrop of mountains....

Ikr, it's like you are so tiny..

Great experience!

OMG don't know that this place is really beautiful. Look at that surrounding, mountain and cloud. I wish l could go there oneday😍😍😍

It's really beautiful over there.

Wonderful photographs. If only those clouds weren't there, you would have seen a whole new world. The entire Kinnaur Kailash Himalaya Range is visible from Kalpa and you can actually pin-point Himalayan peaks while sipping coffee in Kalpa. Keep Writing :)

I hate bad weather during traveling, and luckily it didn't rain the entire day and the sun decided to appear .

you are brave enough to go alone. with respect ....

I think it is not scary once you know how to go , luckily there are so many useful information out there on the internet. thank u.

Nice photos. Interesting post. Discovered your posts now, I will follow you to get more such travel diaries. Just yesterday I had posted about my road trip. Keep up the good work.

thank you.. appreciate you decided to follow.

Good Information bro :)

great psot with super nice pictures! would love to go there one day.

thanks a lot. hope you can visit there soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66543.69
ETH 3327.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71