Ecuador Day 7 - Otavalo and Quito

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

We decided to hike up to a well known local view point near Otavalo. Our tour guide grew up in the area and he took us up to a gum tree on the top of the hill. The tree “El Lechero” (Sacred Tree) is said to have energizing or healing powers. It was a beautiful morning and the view was spectacular!

IMG_8982.jpg

IMG_0971.jpg

Next we decided to check out Cascada de Peguche. It was a beautiful day and the park was quite busy when we visited. There is also a small market at the entrance to the park.

IMG_0993.jpg

IMG_1022.jpg

Otavalo is known for it’s large markets and on Saturdays the streets are filled with a variety of wares. This market is by far the largest outdoor market that I have ever been to.

IMG_8940.jpg

IMG_1034.jpg

IMG_1038.jpg

After the market we boarded the local bus and headed back to Quito.

In Quito we set out to look around a bit before we headed home the next morning.
IMG_1061.jpg

I would have liked to explore Quito a bit more but we were out of time. I guess that means I have to return to Ecuador so I could see the things that I missed.

Sort:  

Beautiful imagery. Especially loved 'El Lechero' ~ The sacred tree. Your photograph of the tree and her surroundings, really does give the impression of it being a place of healing. 🙏

Thank-you - I really enjoyed the tree - one of my favourite spots along the way. So peaceful.

Very nice. Thank you for posting. I'm trying to put together posts like this as well and struggling to figure out how to have them reach more people. I know it is quite a bit of work to put a post like this together.

Thanks for checking out my post :)

Thank you for your good post. The world is beautiful. I want to know about all the corners of our planet and everything that happens on it. Who owns the information is that strong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59439.79
ETH 2290.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48