Learning about the Vietnam war.

in #travel6 years ago

LRM_EXPORT_20180626_200642.jpg
You can't travel in Vietnam without thinking about it's brutal history.
I've began watching a documentary on Netflix made by Ken Burns titled "the Vietnam war" it's really a more bloody and complex history than I had ever imagined. From 100 years under French colonial rule into the horrific north south Division and confusing conflict with America.
I'm currently in the city of Danang . . . I've learned that this is where the French first landed in the 1850s and also where US ground troops landed in the 1960's .
This statue to me represents the USA the eagle fighting with the Viet Kong the snake, the USA used numbers and heavy firepower such as tanks and choppers against the northern Vietnamese who fought with gorilla tactics, stealth and ambush.
It's astounding that after this horrible recent history Vietnam today is so safe and welcoming to visitors, even to American backpakers, I discuss this with my American friend over a noodle lunch. It's young generation are enjoying the fruits of the modern world, they enjoy greeting us and speaking English, however from time to time in the eyes of the older Vietnamese you see the scars, the memories they will never forget.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00