My Weekend in London

in #travel8 years ago

This weekend was my first introduction to steemit, so it seems fitting for me to post about my weekend. I have spent my weekend with my girlfriend visiting my cousin and his girlfriend. It was a good insight for us into London life as we are keen to move to London in the future. For me the journey from Swansea to London is a very simple one, a 3 and a half hour train journey into London Paddington with my girlfriend Beth joining me on the same train from Swindon. Our first experience was Brixton. An area known for being multicultural and edgy. We spent the evening in Pop, a brilliant unique area full of bars and places to eat, with live music playing. I have seen plenty of these concepts online but my first experience of this was brilliant and a very fun environment.

Due to the long working week and travelling our night ended at a reasonable time with an Honest burger before heading back to Herne Hill to my cousin’s flat.

My Saturday began very differently to my usual Saturday back home, I was up at a respectable time ready for a park run with my cousin. Now 18 months ago this would have been a breeze for me but after not attending a gym since i started my job and being in a office 12 hours a day my health and fitness have taken quite a hit. Therefore i was certainly struggling when it come to my 5km run (more like chasing after my cousin) in Dulwich park. Anyone who lives in London will know it has been a beautiful weekend weather wise so the heat added to my pain. My girlfriend doesn't quite enjoy running as much as i do and therefore she did a great job of taking a few photos of Dulwich park.

After getting showered and ready, we headed to Lambeth Country show situated in the local park only a 5 minute walk away. However due to the entertainment lacking slightly we soon moved on to have a few drinks with friends in the sunshine. Saturday evening was as chilled as Friday- we headed back in to Dulwich and enjoyed a lovely Italian meal at Rocca where we got a chance to catch up.

Sunday, now this was the day that Beth was slightly worried about as we had been instructed to bring gym gear to attend a boxing class. Now the idea of boxing to Beth was slightly intimidating, one nervous question in particular made me laugh ‘im not sure its for me, i don't want people punching me’. Much to our surprise and relief (especially for Beth) we attended the Rumble class at 1REBEL gym in Broadgate. The Rumble class is a HIIT class which incorporates speed, footwork and strength based around boxing and mixed martial arts. I have to say we both absolutely loved it, I'm not someone who usually enjoys classes but this was defiantly my ‘cup of tea’ and was tough work. I would recommend this gym to everyone!

After all of the hard work and before we were due to head back home we went for a lovely meal at The Duck and Waffle restaurant. This is situated in the Heron tower on the 40th floor which means that the views are stunning and was a great experience for us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52