The Angeles Crest Highway Right Outside Los Angeles, CA U.S.A.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

When people around the world think of Southern California, especially Los Angeles, mountains aren't usually the first thing that come to mind. The interesting thing to me is that you've probably seen them more times then you realize however they were passed off as England or some Alien world filled with little furry creatures carrying spears yapping away about how they know of a secret entrance into the base!

The truth is those Hollywood Hills are in fact the Foothills of the San Gabriel Mountains in the Angeles Forest and the Angeles Crest Highway takes you right through the middle of them. Just hop onto Highway 2 by Dodger Stadium & once you've passed through Glendale/Pasadena Highway 2 itself becomes the Angeles Crest Highway.
DSCN7709.JPG

DSCN7707.JPG

It's a beautiful drive.......
DSCN7780.JPG

.......with some great spots for hiking.
DSCN7837.JPG

You can even pick up the world famous Pacific Crest Trail.......
DSCN7777.JPG

.........here at the Cloud Burst Summit Crossing as well as several other spots along the Angeles Crest Highway
DSCN7774.JPG

Don't Laugh! When you're camping 24/7/365 that porta-potty you see by the front door is a dream come true. It was one of my most prized possessions at the time. Yes it was the Gypsy life for me and my newly found friend Athena back in 2014.
DSCN7772.JPG

I had just met Athena & she was only a few months old when we took this trip shortly after my time in Slab City........
Barry and me practice slab city 2014.jpg

..........where I adopted Athena and where her parents and at least one brother still reside.
DSCN7765.JPG

Like myself she is quite at home on the trail.
DSCN7833.JPG

DSCN7839.JPG

This optical illusion makes it look as though I have discovered a miniature version of my van sitting on this tree branch.
DSCN7804.JPG

Here's a closer look.
DSCN7803.JPG

The only upside to smog that I can think of is that it does make for spectacular sunset photos.
DSCN7730.JPG

DSCN7796.JPG

That's all for this journey. Keep an eye out for my next photo set as I take you farther north along the Pacific Coast to the Epic coastlines of "Big Sur"

All Photo's were taken by me, Aaron Michael Daley, with a Nikon CoolPix L22 with the exception of the photo of Me and my friend Barry playing Guitar in Slab City. That was taken by my Good Friend Brytnee Miller.
I retain all rights for all photographs taken by myself.

crest highway verify.png

Sort:  

I love California Hills and hiking spots! I hated LA as a City, but Griffith Park and near San Pedro always bring me some good memories! Thanks for sharing your hiking adventure with us! :)

Thank you for checking it out and I agree. I actually lived in LA for a couple years 03-05. It's what finally drove me off the grid for like a decade, out of the country even for like 3 years, i was so fed up. still i had some fun there as well. Hollywood's a trip and a half if you get into acting even if it's just workshops, auditions & waiting tables. everybody knows somebody, trouble is that's like the only thing anyone truly gives a crap about out there. nature of the beast i suppose.

Very cute doggie. The same blue handkerchief we tied his dog yesterday when I was visiting out of town.

that is truly adorable! LOVE IT!

wow that looks so cool. upvote and follow you

Nice photos!
Thanks for sharing them!

Beautiful photos! You're right, these are definitely scenes I would've expected to see here in Utah rather than southern California. Upvoted and followed!

Thank you!!

I am Groot! :D

you were cute for about 5 seconds the first time i saw you. now your just annoying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71