A VISIT TO THE OSUN SACRED GROOVE IN OSHOGBO, NIGERIA :{Photo session}

in #trave7 years ago (edited)

I have always fantasied going to Osun Sacred groove half my life and this fascination geared me into making it reality. I went to visit some friends at Oshogbo when I decided to make use of this given opportunity to visit the shrine even if it was for a short duration.


Osun Sacred Groove in Oshogbo is the dwelling of the Osun mythical creature of the Yorubas, who is believed to be "the goddess of the seas and fertility". It is believed one never remains barren after visiting the shrine. This of course wasn't my intention but purely for sight seeing and adventure.


I refused to take myself a tour guide as that might be a restrain to my inept curiosity. So I mostly didn't understand things that would otherwise need explanation. I would take myself a guide the very next time as there are even a lot more to see.


Preceding this paragraph are photos taken in the Osun Oshogbo groove. I'd try as much to caption for more understanding.


Enjoy :)

IMG_20170218_135455.jpg Main gate into the shrine. I chose not to go in but relish myself with other captivatings

IMG_20170218_135716.jpg
A peek into the gate and a sacred entrance to my view

IMG_20170218_140241.jpg
A beautiful artifact cave entrance

IMG_20170218_140322.jpg
Nothing scares me

IMG_20170218_140610.jpg
Myth has it that prayers are answered in here

IMG_20170218_141353.jpg
How about featuring the masquerading ancestors artifact??

IMG_20170218_144813.jpg
Prodigy of a brave hunter in the forest of a thousand demons

IMG_20170218_144535.jpg
Monkeys are believed to be guidance of the sacred forest


Pheeewww!!! So many things to see and capture! I am a bad photographer but I'm sure you had fun viewing the pictures. The fun never ends in Osun Oshogbo, a place you must be!!!


Picture Source 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

KINDLY UPVOTE AND COMMENT

Sort:  

Woooow, this sights are wonderful...

You know i had wanted to go sometimes ago but i said

theres nothing spectacular about the place

Will you be my tour guide soon???

There's everything spectacular about the place! I'd love to chaperon you

Fair enough.. Lets do this next month... Thanks baybie

Wow! Why did you go alone @aderonkemi, I have also wanted to be in this place too.osun state is one of the best place to visit in Nigeria and I hope one day I will be able to. Kudos for the post.

You should come to osun one of these days. I'd be your host!

Host?, does that mean you're living in Osun?..Omoh! Lemme pack and be coming right now.... Lol😀😀

One of the UNESCO sites, I hail from the state of Osun. History has it that Osun is the most caring of all goddess, you could keep your kids in the shrine and nothing will happen to them, she will appear to them, feed them with porridge and bath them. Only the actions can be seen by adults, but kids can see Osun.

@autofreak was here

Huh??? Now this is making me freak out @autofreak. I won't keep no kid in the shrine no matter how caring history had it seem!

This is beautiful.. African culture is really beautiful

It can't be traded for anything too👌👌

Did you see any mermaid??

Lols guy why?😂😂

She writes a story based on mermaid
So I tot she saw some ni

Maybe there are pics sef

@bcrafts are u serious right now?? 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂.... I didn't see no mermaid jor🙈🙈

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Nice one... love this

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01