Why Having Less Money Should Not Stop People From Traveling the World - Based on My Experience

in #trav7 years ago (edited)

C360_2017-06-24-01-59-38-054.jpg

Four years ago I quit my corporate job and sold my few things. Back then I really just had my last pay from the company and some money I saved, which in world’s standard, not enough to even travel for a month. I’ve searched for weeks for blogs about how other travelers have done it, inspiring books, online communities and other things that prepared me for my long spiritual journey. That time I had a good job position and was earning a proper wage. But every day was the same and I was stuck in the usual routine of life. I just needed to get away from it all and reclaim my freedom. I couldn’t relate to anyone and all my friends were moving on with their lives, - kids, family and all. I just realized that there’s more to life than this. When I hit rock-bottom, that was the beginning of the rest of my life. I just decided to make it happen. So finally, I had the courage to say “Fuck it, I’m leaving”.

Quitting your job to travel is not easy, especially if your job is your only means of making money in order to get by or if you don’t really have some savings. But don’t let this stop you from seeing the world. I’ve met people from all over the world who have done it, and they went back to their home countries rich with experiences, found love abroad, found a job somewhere that they are passionate about and some just decided to work on their own personal projects applying the things they have learned from traveling. Traveling is a great investment especially if you’re still finding your place in the world or searching for the meaning in life.

I packed my life in a small backpack, took my money and left. I booked a one-way ticket to Indonesia, my first stop. Soon, I was traveling in Malaysia, Vietnam - the whole South East Asia, then to Russia, lived in Vietnam for a while then flew to South America where I have spent the last 2 years. In total: 4 years. I’m now back to my home country with a fresh perspective of the world, great idea for a start-up project which I am currently working on, and of course travel stories that I can’t wait to write about.

It wasn’t easy as long-term travel is not a bed of roses. I had ups and downs, my fair share of bumpy roads, good and bad experiences, you know - life. For years I was exposed to culture, people, constant changes, difficulties, excitement, danger, heartbreak - everything. This just made me a stronger person than I was before, and after experiencing all of these, there seemed to be nothing that I couldn't handle now.

Before start worrying about how much money you need to start, you need to set your mindset first. Because the most important thing is your attitude towards long-term traveling. Do you have the courage and strength to finally get out there in exchange for freedom and finding your purpose in life?

C360_2017-06-24-01-57-40-918.jpg

Easier said than done.

Traveling with less money for a long time is not easy and it’s not for everyone. That’s the reality. But we all know that nothing is impossible if you really want something in life.

I was scared at the beginning. I mean who wouldn't be, can you imagine the anxiety of what if you ran out of money, what if you regret it, what if you get killed, all the what-ifs. Then later on I didn’t care that much anymore as I just wanted to disappear. I took a big leap of faith, trusting the universe will take care of me along the way. And trust me, it did.
.
There are people of course who are already happy living their simple lives, even though they don’t really have a lot. I met people in the villages who live in harmony with nature, and for sure I didn’t need to encourage these people to travel. They have already created a life they don’t need to escape from.

I’m talking about those people who are still thinking of what’s next or what now? People who are still searching for meaning in their lives. They have a lot of excuses and reasons not to go, but they complain about being stuck in the same place where nothing seems to change. The usual routine and the same faces every day that they couldn't bear anymore. The “I don’t have money" mindset or “I am too poor” should be changed to “How can I afford to travel?”. Friends who claimed they wanted to travel but didn't have enough money, seemed to have enough for drinking, partying, buying expensive gadgets, smoking cigarettes etc.

C360_2017-06-24-01-56-57-152.jpg

I’ve stayed in houses of the local people through couchsurfing in exchange for cooking my local dish for them, having a laugh, language practice or by just telling them my travel stories. I volunteered through “workaway” which allowed me to stay longer in one place and at the same time learning some new skills. I hitchhiked (of course, this is not for everyone) from Brazil to Uruguay up to the South of Argentina, then up to Bolivia then to Peru, where I found a job in a travel agency. I stayed in Cusco, Peru for months taking mini trips around and enjoying the much-needed break from traveling. I quit that job again and found a volunteering job in The Galapagos and stayed there for 2 months, and so on. I mean, I can explain in great detail in my next post the things I did to minimize the costs of traveling. I probably just some spent money on food (which it wasn’t that much because I was usually cooking for my hosts - you have to love cooking!), occasional drinking and entrance fees to national parks.

Slow travel is the best way to get to know a place, experience the culture and get to know the local people. If you travel slowly, your expenses will be cheap, but it also depends on how you travel and your self-discipline. Sometimes you just have to find the balance, making sure that you are still comfortable, healthy despite the frugality.

To get started, find out how other travelers have done it. Read their blogs, talk to them and be inspired. If you need that money to get started then find ways on how to get that much-needed capital in exchange for the life-changing experiences you deserve. Get that last pay from your job or sell your stuff. You can also do some freelancing gig, blogging, writing interesting content for steemit, playing music on the street, create some handicrafts, it’s up to you. Whatever your passion is! This is the best time to focus on the things you enjoy doing. You might be able to do these while you travel which is good as it will reduce the anxiety of uncertainty.

So are you ready to make a radical change in your life?

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

Sort:  

lets go#

upvote.upvote.upvote. True story and keep up!!

Thank you so much!

Congratulations @diabolika! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yey! Thanks Steemit!!!!!

yes you are right experience matter i agree

I like ur click 😍

I admired people that have the courage to make a big change on thier lives.
Great story
Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for reading!

I've been reading your posts for an hour lol. It is no coincidence I came across you.

I appreciate that, I'm following you back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51