A Free very clean Datsun b210 Hatchback and I turned it down. Ungrateful teenager! Any similar story in your past?

in #transportation8 years ago (edited)

When I got my drivers license back in 1989, my mom offered to give me her 1977 Datsun B210 hatchback. I was a dumb and ungrateful teenager, because I turned it down.

Source

I guess I didn't think it was a cool enough car back then, and I must of thought it was ugly or something.

Now, I would love to have that yellow car. It was a very clean and sporty little Datsun.

The Lord knows that I have a lot of regret in my life, and turning down that cool gift from my sweet mom is one of my biggest regrets.

I saw one of these classic Datsun cars driving down the road a few days ago, and I remember blowing my chance of having my own set of Datsun wheels.

I'm @runridefly, and do you have a similar regret from your past or have history with one of these cars. Thank you.

Sort:  

My dad had the same car, and color. It was so ugly it wasn't. Datsuns have a following now.

@gregm, I think they are cool looking cars now. Worth a lot more than the $900 my mom sold it for.

I agree, I wouldn't mind having one!

One of our first cars - mechanicals just kept going - even when people criticised it. Unfortunately the body and trim were not up to spec, Our friends also went out and purchased one the same colour as the pic - unfortunately it must have been a Monday car as it just rusted away - sad.

@sesises, I'm in California and cars don't have rust issues. Thank you so much for the comment and appreciate you sharing.

That's a classic now! Ah, the things we learn ...

@barrydutton, every day I learn something new.

Definitely nicer than the 120Y I learned my driving in.
Then again, how many people now knows the name Datsun.

@ace108, you have to be over 40 to know datsun. Thank you for the comment.

yes, of course and you're welcome

I had an International Scout that was given to me. All I had to do was fix it up. Never did. I wish I had.

@alaqrab, one of my best friends had an older scout in high school.

My first car was actually my wife's car given to her sort of as a wedding present. It was a red 1975 MGB. A very cool car indeed.

Unfortunately, the engine burned out after a trip to Magic Mountain in California. I also got divorced but I'd really like to drive that car again.

@ken-and-jane, i not too far from magic mountain. I'm north of bakersfield down from magic mountain. had a guy in my hometown who had a front yard full of MGBs

Cool. Maybe mine is there rusting away. I live in AZ now, not as nice weather and landscape wise but not as crowded.

When i had just passed my test there was one of these and i couldn't afford it but i liked the styling, and the seats real stick in my mind for some reason, however i was equally ungrateful when my parents tried to buy me a skoda for £295, the really rubbish ones. Anyway i got what i deserved because i ended up with a morris marina i had to hotwire for a week until it died and then a metro which was chicken poo yellow. pennance paid.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.38 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 06 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

A 140Z like this won the 9 Hour race overall at Kyalami in the late 1970's when the bigger Sports Cars and Saloons broke down, Brian Cook was the Driver!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.64
ETH 3491.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53