Sort:  

I was really hoping to read why you believe monopolies are impossible in the state of a free market, but I do understand that writing something in with depth in these nested comments interface is an absolute challenge. But maybe that's a good topic for a full blown post?

My advice, from my own experience is TLDR (To Long Didn't Read)...in other words don't write a Full Blown Post. If you do the snowflakes get confused. Then they run and hide under their bed with their teddy bear and suck their thumbs.

So unless you want to be responsible for psychic trauma...keep your posts short and simple.

Perhaps if you have a relatively complex idea that you want to TRY to get across...you could break it up into several bite sized chunks?

Keep in mind who you are dealing with...take baby steps..

Maybe you misunderstood me. I was suggesting you do a post on "What makes monopolies impossible in the state of a truly free market". I'm really interested on why you believe this.

It's perplexing to me that you wouldn't address that point which leads me to believe you might realize you have no real arguments to support this claim of yours.

you can believe what you want to...I no longer care.
I spent WAY to much time talking to you..only to be met with logical fallacies and insults.
have a nice day.

You did spend a lot of time in this discussion which I surely appreciate. I have been open about admitting my mistakes and apologizing for what might have been insulting. Still, for a snowflake-flamer, you seem to be too easily offended in this case.

Thanks for the time and effort either way.

ooops...my mistake.
I apologize.
I thought you were someone else..
I spent a LOT of time talking about that subject with (x)..and like I wrongly accused you of...he responded with logical falasies, and insult...
It wasn't you...once more I apologize.

You did point out logical fallacies in some of my comments in the education discussion and I did take them to heart and I think you were insulted by some of my US and Texas comments. I hope I'm not that other guy after all as I would like to continue this type of discussion with people holding different opinions from mine as I find them the most enriching.

I plead confusion..
us old farts can do that.
do you live in honduras?

In regard to your question
WHY is it impossible for a monopoly to exist in a free market.
Well...I guess it's technically possible...if the monopoly watched it's P's and Q's and did everything in it's power that was possible to bring the highest quality and cheapest cost of it's service or product to the market. As long as it did that then competetion would be a problem...once it did othewise...all bets are off.

Supply and demand don't ya know? and other market factors....
It's happened before...read about Standard Oil and the Great Northern RailRoad...
they were pretty much monoplies...and their customers LOVED IT...which is why their competitors didn't

Technically possible is often all it takes for things to go wrong sooner or later. I agree the market has a lot of ways to fix that, especially for non-finite resources and services. I personally think roads in particular are in much higher danger of becoming monopolized in a way that would not be beneficial to the customer because of their geographical constraints.

I wonder how do you see the problem of all alternate routes between two destinations being owned by the same corrupt monopolist and how do you expect the free market to solve that.

Still, let me dig deeper into your examples and the video.

I have a quarter century of experience with alternate routes...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68425.65
ETH 2646.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68