You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Giulio Prisco the Contradictory Transhumanist

in #transhumanism8 years ago

Good points René. I completely agree that "what transhumanism is mostly concerned with is choice" - the choice to pursue "personal preferences which may or may not be shared by others."

Nazis would not be included because their choice is to violently force their personal preferences onto others and violently preventing others from making their own free choices. That can't be part of transhumanism.

As usual, we disagree on religion, but as you put it, that the "metaphysical" realm "needs to be subject to scientific, empirical investigation," I almost agree! In fact, my work is focused on a fusion of science, metaphysics and theology. I say almost, because there is one caveat (that we discussed elsewhere): Current science is not advanced enough to really understand these things, and vague poetic insights are often the best we can do.

By the way, this is Giulio. I don't remember why I chose to go by Heisenberg here (either quantum physics or Breaking Bad I guess), and I don't see how to change that. Also, how do I set my avatar?

So is Steemit the next Facebook? Should we move here?

Sort:  

Welcome Giulio! I will follow you, and I hope you and extie and renemilan will help me grow the futurism-trail, the curation-trail(part of steemtrail) that will help support articles about futurism and futurology in a broad sense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61