You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Transgender 101: Episode 4; "The surgery"

in #transgender6 years ago

This is the second time I have read this post. I'm really glad you linked it so I can upvote it this time. I got even more out of it the second read.

I'm going to be very honest--this is a topic I've been afraid to learn about, but you cured that for me when you said these two things:

These surgeries save lives and salvage lives and where as we don't all need surgeries for those of us that do it is a monumental step forward into just being normal.

These surgeries are just a part of solving an issue we were born with there is nothing gross or alien about it it's the simple fix of a problem for us personally.

I have long agreed with both statements. While not trans, I have breast implants, and I have them because I lost my breast tissue and having that space refilled normalizes my female experience. I feel much better about myself as a woman with that area corrected even though my body "naturally" (and dear goddess I have issues with that term right now) lost breast tissue through breastfeeding.

I have several people dear to me who are in various states of transition. This piece helps me better understand how important surgery may or may not be to them, as well as how I can support them if/when it is pursued.

Sort:  

Im so glad you found a solution! its always a balance but we all know what we need, not want, need in order to normalize inside ourselves and be ok with ourselves in society, reaching those goals can be difficult and painful but its very much the same thing some cis people experiance😊cus were all just people being people🦄🖤🦄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66303.73
ETH 3592.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61