You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Transgender 101: Episode 1; What does it mean to be Transgender?

Such an informative post and I'm really glad I came across it. As a gay man I'm still pretty ignorant when it comes to transgender people and what that means. I have had a friend that transitioned MTF, and a few other acquaintances, but meaningful discussion and understanding has been lacking.

What I really found enlightening about this post, that had previously really confused me is how a transgender person labels themselves after the transition, based on who they are attracted to. Before I just couldn't understand that a male could transition to a female, like women, and call herself a lesbian. OF COURSE SHE CAN THOUGH... there's every colour on the spectrum and people are able to love whoever they are attracted to. It was just really confusing as to why one would do the transition to female, if they could just remain male, date a woman, and be straight and 'normal' - why go through all the hassle?

Ashamedly... my MIND HAS BEEN BLOWN!

Thank you!

Sort:  

For sure! Thank you for taking the time to read through and answer your questions. I have known and talked about for a while now that the lack of education on the subject is the real problem but ive not had the time to commit to properly laying out the basics, now i do so stay tuned for sure;-) I hope that your question was answered in the above article about why transition happens regardless of sexual attractions. If not please let me know and i can clarify. Hope your day is wonderful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65988.06
ETH 3414.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67