Sort:  

Thanks, and thank you for up voting one of my videos.

I am finding that Dtube using IPFS isn't always reliable especially for videos over 30 minutes. I am currently debating whether to get a vps server and run IPFS on it and self host my videos so I know that they will always be available, or sign up and host them on Vimeo and then embed them here or provide a link in case people have difficulties.

I want DTube to succeed, but it isn't always reliable at the moment. The only way to improve our channels and viewership is to ensure that content is always available to watch. To me DTube seems to be used mainly at the moment for political and social commentary. Niche content like trains isn't getting the viewership just yet and so our videos are not being cached as much (which makes them less likely to load without errors)

No Problem.

That explains a lot. I couldn't figure out why I was having so much trouble opening videos, including my own.

I've been trying to upload since I joined last August, but had no luck until this past week. I still have a few large files that continue to fail. I guess I better edit my descriptions and add the dreaded YouTube links.

All this Steem and upvoting and reputation is still pretty foreign to me, but I'm doing my best to figure it out.

Yeah, I joined about the same time and also had issues. So far I have been uploading just files about 30 minutes in length, but the latest one is 40 and it hasn't worked at all for me yet.

IPFS works by decentralising content. Unlike Youtube which stores your videos on a central server, as far as I know IPFS spreads bits of your videos all over the place between different IPFS servers. So when you go to watch them it fetches the video from many different sources, or the best and most reliable source. The more popular the video is the more servers host it.

At the moment I am guessing that most of the IPFS hosting is currently done on people's home PCs. Trouble is if they turn their pc off - bang goes your video. Also if they have poor home broadband again you end up with a slow poor connection.

This system will be great as it evolves and more people host IPFS servers and is certainly great for content that is edgy or politically incorrect as it is more censorship resistant. But for content like ours - trains - which is not in any way questionable and therefore unlikely to get pulled for falling foul of guidelines, there isn't much benefit from hosting all over the place.

As I said I am going to probably just open an account with Vimeo and upload there and embed here, and also upload in Dtube, but then at least if people have problem withe Dtube video they can click the link and watch on Vimeo (or in your case Youtube) without problems.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66330.08
ETH 3331.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70