Training tip - trail safety supplies

in #trainingtips6 years ago

"What have I got in my pockets?"

-Bilbo Baggins


When running in the trails, I like to occasionally take a seat on a rock, and think about a bad injury, and waiting for aid.

I think about how long it would likely take to get help to me.

Also about what kind of time it would take to get me out to help.

With that in mind, I thought I would dump my pockets and share with you what I bring along for survival in my trailrunning escapades.

Yours may be different, but I strongly suggest sitting down mid-trail soon, and thinking about such a wait.

DJK35105.jpg

Top row:

spare neckwarmer (red) and gloves

Middle row:

mylar space blanket, snack, home-made bandage kit (including 2m strip of coban)

Bottom row:

spare hat, pepper spray/animal repellant, flask of rum.

This gets a bit bulky in my coat pockets, but isn't really a problem except for looks.

This photo is my last pocket.

20180405_164010.png

Cash, credit card, whistle, housekey and tiny knife/multitool.

Not pictured is the cell phone and gps watch I usually bring.

This kit should change a fair amount with the seasons changing, and you will want to find YOUR perfect kit.

Also, please let me know if you think I'm missing anything.

Sort:  

I would like to thank you for joining the contest @greetersguild, the one that the group I helped co-found is hosting. I apologize for leaving the comment in bold below, as I was using it to mark your post so that I could add a congratulatory message to your post that you had won a free membership to steembasicincome. But only a bag would go into two different contests, and stir people up. I have been on here for three months, working to help as many people as I can day to day, while also growing my own personal account taking care of my own business. I am sorry your sense of blogging perfection has caused your expectations and feelings to be hurt, and maybe even something about you challenged, to something as ignorant as enter a contest, and halfway through it leave a knucklehead message like this. There is no way this is a real account, and/or there is no way this your only account, if you just started on here and you are going around like this, heckling people who are trying to develop a community on this platform. I held these contests over the course of three months, most of the time by myself, funding them myself, finding people to participate myself, upvoting people's posts myself. Luckily I found and helped develop a community of friends that have helped and the participation on all fronts has really been awesome this time around, but a little overwhelming as I am working on about six projects at the same time. So I do apologize sincerely, this message could've been a little more carefully crafted, I did review your post, ready your post, perhaps I was in a hurry, for that I was wrong. For this message I am not. Feel free to go through my 3500 comments/posts in the last three months and let me know how I can better improve my communications to entrants on this platform, so I can find them, give them stuff, teach them about the platform, all while trying to get around to posting fairly helpful informative content.

Congratulations! You were upvoted by the cryptkeeper17 curation trail on steem auto via minnowbooster upvote! To get your post voted by me and 24 other friends daily reply here or or visit me on discord cryptkeeper17#6637. Congratulations on joining the @greetersguild contest and best of luck to you! Let me know if there is anything I can help you with going forward!

Stop spam. Start with your example above.

Much more human, thanks. I hate spam.

Pretty unhappy that I went for your contest without realizing it would lead directly to spam.

I don't want to 'win' anything from you, so please take back anything you gave me. I'm sure you can find someone who appreciates what you offer. Please take me off your contest list.

This is a real account, and this is my only account. I would rather be talking about trailrunning, than about your (classy as fuck) community work.

Wow.... I'm kind of shocked to see how you react to people trying to help sustain and build the same community your "real" profile exists and profiteers in. I would personally have thought that you would have more respect for the platform itself than this, let alone other members of the community, but to each their own I suppose. The sad thing is, you are actually talented, but will never get anywhere with an attitude such as that. At any rate, great work and good luck to you. I hope one day you grow more and realize that turning your back on the same community in which you operate is a poor decision.

By the way, none of this way spam, please observe the actual definition of such. This was merely people trying to network with you and engage with you, but you chose to shoot them down due to your personal views and poor attitude. These folks were excited to have you on board, but you had to ruin that for them, which, is your choice ultimately. It is a shame things could not have been different, but such is life my friend. I wish you the best with your future endeavors.

Another post about how great your advertising-group is. To think, I just asked you guys to leave me alone, and you come back to write THIS?

You know, if I wanted your assistance, this might not sound quite so condescending, douchey and pig-ignorant. As it is, I'm hoping this is the last I hear from you and cryptokeeper17. Why don't you go piss up a rope?

All I said is that we all are in the same community, and that there was no reason for you to contain so much animosity and ignorance to this, which obviously is something you cannot much help judging from your lack of understanding to my comment and your reply to it. But to each their own my friend, do as you please. The world will spin on with or without you, so it really means nothing to me at the end of the day whether you want to be someone that helps mold a better future or works against it. Though you would have been welcomed with open arms into building something great for this platform, you made your choice and I respect such. This is the last you'll hear from me, as I have no interests in associating myself with such types of people as you. Good luck to you and your future endeavors, I wish you much success and prosperity for the years to come.

You have a really good safety kit with you.

You're well prepared, for sure. But one thing I don't see is a bottle of water.

In the past, each year, I trekked across a dry mountain and the only thing I wish I had more is water :-)

Excellent point!

With all the snow around, I haven't worried about it much (to be honest, my water was freezing in the drink-tube)

I have since heard of the suck-then-blow method of keeping ice out of the straw, but haven't tried it yet. This is a good reminder, thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63240.82
ETH 3048.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80