Night running lighting - training tip with paid shilling included

in #trainingtips6 years ago

Nothing should get in the way of a training run, so for me, lighting is important. Getting run over might slow me down.

When choosing how to illuminate yourself, crank the screen on your smartphone up to 100%, stare into it, and think about what you are competing with.

When running on the highway, I make sure to 'spear' oncoming drivers with my headlamp, a few times. This ensures that they see me in plenty of time to plan.

When I hear traffic behind me, I spear the signs ahead, as this reflects and again, attracts the attention of the drivers.

When approaching an intersection, I shine my beam around it as I approach, again to be more conspicuous.

My light dims itself when pointing at something lighted, so it's easier on the drivers than it might be otherwise. My chosen headlamp at the moment is the Petzl Reactik. Rechargeable, great quick adjusting strap and has an app so you can play with the features on your phone if you want.

I use a headlamp, with a blinker on the rear, blinkers on my mitts, reflective outerwear highlights and a noxgear Tracer360.

Where I run, I am often sharing open lakes with skidoos capable of terrifying speeds, and so I am a bit pro-active about being seen.

I should say that I get free gear from Noxgear for promoting their stuff. They send me a free one when a number of people in my hometown strava group uses our discount code. I won't give you the code here, because I don't really care about what you light up with, just try to make it better than this. :)
DJK30666 copy.jpg
Wearing it I feel like the love child of James Cagney and Andy Gibb.


_DJK0473 copy.jpg
doesn't it have a manly-disco vibe?

Sort:  

I have to take up running again!!! It has been a couple of years ago, but I hope you have got me inspired :)

I suggest taking it slower than you think you need to. It's easy to overdo it at first. Let me know if you want to come for a run (or need any info)

Yes, going to be slow at the start, but going to have a long term goal to reach a 10km run in maybe 6-9 months :)
Hehe I would love to come for a run, but that has to be planed since I live in Norway :)

We can 'run together' digitally, via a fun app called strava, or by sharing photos and distances here :) I used a free program online from Scoobys Workshop, simple and plain, which took me from start to half-marathon in 19 weeks.

Thanks for the information!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59456.51
ETH 2300.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48