On Zainab's rape & murder... with blood and tears

in #tragedy7 years ago (edited)

What I want to write about today has struck closer to the heart than I ever thought was possible. It is with tears flowing down my face that I try to give shape to these thoughts. Many of you might not know, but a seven-year-old angel, Zainab, from the city of Kasur in Pakistan, was yesterday found dead in a rubbish dump, several days after she'd been missing. If that alone wasn't enough to break your heart, it gets worse: she was molested and murdered afterwards.

Riots have since broken out in Kasur city and across the country at large, with pretty much everybody demanding justice for the poor girl, but my mind fails me. It's not about what barbarians committed this act and how horrendous their punishment should be; it's not about how severe and eternal - per my faith as a Muslim - the perpetrator's punishment would be in the afterlife; no, what my mind is stuck on are the thoughts and the feelings that the poor girl would've gone through while she was alive and suffering. Seven years! A mere seven years was all that she'd experienced this world for. Seven years of innocence and (hopefully) happiness. Seven years of love and care from her family. Seven years of toys and laughter, of small wishes like getting a balloon or a pencil, or a pink frock! Seven years, and the light got snuffed out by an animal.

As a father of two girls - four and (almost) three - the mere thought of them scratching themselves kills me. Yet Zainab - seven year old Zainab - had to suffer way worse than a scratch. She had to live through some sick, fucking bastard violating her innocent-as-an-angel body, suffer the trauma of a stranger forcing his vile self upon her - all when she couldn't even comprehend what was happening to her. I know how scared and terrified my daughters become when I just raise my voice a little; I've seen them cower behind me in front of our relatives who they've seen so many times. Yet Zainab - ah, poor, innocent Zainab - I cannot even begin to grasp what she would've gone through. How sorely she'd have missed the protection of her father; how she'd have cried for her mother. I cannot stem my tears when I think about what that child would've gone through. Can we ever truly comprehend the innocence of childhood? Of a seven-year-old's childhood?

We can all cry for justice. Perhaps, wishfully thinking, we might even get some justice by making an example out of this sad excuse for a human being who committed this act, but what none of us can go through, or even remotely compensate for, is what this beautiful child went through. Zainab, sweetheart, while I know these words will not reach you, I hope you know that you're now in a better place - much, much better than filthy world. Where you are now, no vile creature will touch you, ever again. Rest among the angels, sweetheart - rest, now; you're finally, truly safe.

Zainab, with blood and tears...

Full news here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-42637027

Sort:  

You got a 1.16% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @aatifk!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50