Traffic Koans [Day 26]

in #traffic-koans7 years ago

This is Day 26 of the 30-day Traffic Koans contest. Details on how to enter can be found here: https://steemit.com/traffic-koans/@jedau/traffic-koans-halfway-update-1505319420-6600256


traffic-koans

Two friends were huddled close together, staring at a mobile phone. One was flipping through several pictures of women, while the other sought to offer judgement.

"How 'bout her?" the observer queried.

"Pass," the flipper quickly dismissed.

"Wha—Why?"

"Too skinny."

"Oh huh... I never took you for someone who likes 'em curvy. How 'bout her?"

"Too pale."

"For someone who's deathly pale, you're quite picky aren't you? There! Nice curves, tan skin."

"Nope."

"What is it now?"

"She looks like she has a high-pitched voice."


the-shoulder-lane.png

Yesterday's koan talked about how opportunistic some taxi drivers could be, but for part two of this mini two part koan series that centers on taxis, I wanted to discuss a phenomenon that has plagued many Filipinos from time immemorial. I'm talking about those taxi drivers who are picky about their passengers.

I mean, yeah I get it. It's their prerogative to reject passengers that they find suspicious, but come on. Whenever you don't pick up a decent looking fellow in favor of a sexy, beautiful girl, then there's really something odd afoot. Or, whenever you ask a person's destination and reject the fare because you're already docking and it's out of the way. What if it's your child in that position? Would you feel happy about your child being rejected for those reasons? Compassion is key, people.

I wanted to pair these two issues up because I wanted to discuss some recent developments surrounding taxis in the country. Taxi groups are complaining that they're not getting passengers because of the rise of Uber and other on-demand ride service apps. All the while, there's a collective facepalm all over the internet. I mean, how could they be so naive?

With all of the complaints against them, and how majority of the taxi drivers are scumbags, why would they place the blame on companies that offer better alternatives? In the first place, commuters wouldn't gravitate towards the more expensive option if taxi drivers just did what they're intended to do—that is to provide a safe and reliable experience to passengers. They're blaming others for the mess that they have made.

Working in tandem with one of the stupidest departments in today's government, they were even successful in suspending Uber from operating. They made up bullshit excuses about Uber being the cause of traffic or Uber is unsafe. Last I checked, they seem to be describing themselves.

Now, I've suffered through a lot of these kinds of taxi drivers, especially during the Christmas season. They refuse to let you ride if you don't pay an exorbitant amount on top of the metered fare. Sure, I get that times are tough, but if they're going to take advantage of other people, they're just perpetuating the cycle that caused their life so much misery.

Unless they get it through their thick skulls that they are the problem, nothing is ever going to get solved. It's easy to point fingers at others, but it's easier to solve problems you can control—mainly, yourself.

Any infuriating taxi stories? Let's chew the fat in the comments section! I'm happy to rage out with you :D


THIS IS A CONTEST WITH SBD PRIZES!


To know how to enter, check out the link below


https://steemit.com/traffic-koans/@jedau/traffic-koans-halfway-update-1505319420-6600256



Vote @lukestokes.mhth | @steemgigs as Steemit witnesses!



If you enjoyed this, please be sure to follow

Sort:  

It is really appalling seeing or even hearing stories of such concerning taxi drivers and their trickish attitude.
A friend of mine wanted going to the market to purchase some items. He got a taxi after so many rejections from other taxis going same direction.
He was a visitor to this particular market (First-timer). Sequel to this, all passengers in the taxi paid same amount except my friend who was charged higher simply because he isn't from their community and doesn't speak their tribe. It was just too awful

Ach! That sounds awful :( Those people who take advantage of other are really infuriating. They took advantage because your friend doesn't know any better. I hope that taxi driver gets a flat tire. Now, whether that would happen while the taxi is parked or going a hundred miles an hour, I'll let fate decide.

Thanks for sharing this story, and I hope your friend gets lucky as recompense :D

Isnt it always the case. Companies and people lament the fact that they are doing poorly because of something else. Whilst being ridiculously myopic and never looking at their own shortcomings. Get my goat that does.

I loved this line

"She looks like she has a high-pitched voice."

It's easier to point fingers at others than inwards I guess. Hmm.. yeah, I just tried it. Very hard to fold my arms inside myself. I see where they're coming from, but that doesn't excuse them. Not one bit. Since they have the power, too, they're not ashamed to exercise it, which is a shame all to itself.

I've been sitting on that line for quite a while now haha! I'm glad I was able to use it for this one. And, I'm glad that you were able to stop by, dude :D

You knew me, I have said it before and I will say it again. I might miss it sure to our wonky time zone action but I get there in the end!! :0D

Never mind the delay caused by the time zone, what matters is that you do get here. Appreciate you, dudemeister!! :D

Right back at ya jedster!

Oh man, been a long time since I've been called that nickname!! Haha! I have to say I missed it more than the other ones like Jedsus or Jedcyclopedia haha!

Jedcyclopedia must have been particularly wearing!!

It doesn't help that I had the memory of an elephant. In retrospect, I wish I charged for the info. But, it was quite useful when it came to memorization exams though haha! Last one in, first one out!

Some taxi did just pass by me occasionally but this was quite some time ago. Buses used to be more aggravating. Once, in the middle of winter, with half a meter of new snow and minus 20 degrees Celsius, I stood there on the bus station on my way to work. Of, course there was no way to call a taxi, stores were not open yet, mobile phones non-existing, and there some 3-5 taxis in town, anyway, so most probably they were already busy. So, I just stood there on the bus stop trying not to undercool and catch a cold. The first two overloaded buses swooshed by me without stopping. Then the third one did the same. Even though it was absolutely empty my waiving didn't help one single bit. My anger was the only fuel to heat my body. Needless to say, I missed the first hour of my workday when I finally arrived in half frozen state.

Agh... Sorry to hear you through that. I'm glad you got out in one piece. Work should've been suspended in such harsh conditions. But, I wouldn't know. I have yet to experience snow in my life.

Public transportation is the worst. If they could only do what they're intended to do, the world would be a better place. Thank you for yet another cringe-worthy tale. I appreciate you recounting your experiences for the purpose of this challenge.

This really doesn't have a lot to do with your subject, but a poetry friend of mine uses taxis as a reoccurring element in many of his poems. They are interesting in concept. These anonymous drivers who transport life from one situation to another.

I used to do this too, but with buses haha! Something about public transportation that inspires poetry I guess. Maybe because our hands are free while we're traveling in them haha! Thanks for stopping by to share that though!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jedau from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48