You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Traffic Koans FINAL RESULTS

in #traffic-koans7 years ago

Thank you very much for the 3rd prize. I appreciate it very much. It looks like I'm going to miss commenting on your Traffic-koans, like some sort of late evening contemplation is withdrawn from my existence. It was fun doing it as well as writing it, and also rummaging through the past and present events to find an appropriate answer. Sometimes it felt like ransacking some big, almost abandoned, cobwebbed warehouse that hasn't been looked into for quite some time. Well, looks like I'm going to close it again now.

Sort:  

Awww! That's so nice of you to say :') I'm glad it left that kind of impact. I truly appreciate your energetic participation on this. Anyway, this was only just the beginning. Hopefully we would be able to continue supporting each other's work beyond the contest.

I do hope that even as you close your doors on that mental warehouse that you were able to have fun during your brief re-visitation of it :D Look, I know it's not a lot, but I hope you put the SBD winnings to good use. Invest in as SP or on other altcoins and grow it. Once you become a cryptomillionaire in the coming months, I'll be happy knowing that your winnings here helped you reach that goal :)

Yes, it was contemplative fun, and I too hope we could support each other's work further on. Maybe I'll peak sometimes back into that warehouse and hopefully not some big spider looks back at me.
Regarding SP and SBD I'll still have to learn my way around . Each time I try to understand this my mind gets all frizzled, for it looks so complicated to me. Maybe it just isn't. I'll have to re-read all those post that explain what to do with what again, and hopefully won't make a mess out of it.
So, if I ever manage to become a cryptomillionaire, I'll let you know. Three months, you give me? Humph, that is some high opinion you have of my understanding the cryptoworld.
I'll try to do my best out of your generous reward.

What about SP and SBD that's confusing to you? Basically, you can think of SP as your stake in Steemit. You can power down and get withdraw it as STEEM any time, but as long as you have SP, you increase your influence here, especially in terms of your voting weight. The more SP you have, the more powerful you are.

SBDs are designed to be pegged closely to one USD, so that users who receive them can know approximately how much they are worth in “real dollar” terms. Basically, it's there to help give users a more realistic estimate of Steem against USD. It's always going to be priced close to $1. As in, 1 SBD = 1 USD most of the time.

So, I guess, if I do Convert the Steem Dollars to Steem then my vote is worth more (also depending on the value on the market) and the converted amount shows in STEEM or in STEEM POWER? Transfer to savings does what, besides that the value shows up in the savings - what is this savings for and what can I do with it? Do I have to convert to Steem or transfer to savings all of the amount or just partly. So, you see I'm quite new to all of this and I apologize, if I ask such dumb questions. At least have fun answering, it might clear some fog out of my mind.

Straight conversion depends on current price of STEEM and SBD. If SBD is less than $1, then it would be beneficial to convert because the peg of $1 is what the STEEM is going to be converted on. Other than that, you can just trade SBD to other cryptocurrencies, or SBD->SP using Blocktrades if you want to convert it. Really though, you can trade cryptos using SBD by itself, you don't have to convert it to anything, but it's advisable to convert to STEEM if SBD is less than $1, as it currently is. Heck I'm converting my SBD as we speak!

Savings is only there to secure your STEEM and SBD in case your account is compromised. It has a holding period for withdrawal, so that's a good security buffer until you resolve the issue. You don't have to put anything in the savings if you don't want to though. Personally, I haven't used it.

No worries about the questions, I'm happy to help out whenever I can. Though, I'm not in any way an expert on the topic, so I'm just answering based on my understanding. Full disclosure, everything I said could be incorrect, so it's best to check it against other tutorials and the whitepaper. There are tons of helpful tutorials here on Steemit made by people more knowledgeable than I am.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18