You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ruth-Girl's Grandma Makes Greek Traditional Trahana!

in #tradition6 years ago

This is such an amazing process!

I guess a traditional food from my area might be some good seafood chowder. We usually keep our lobster heads and parts as well as the shells from our shell fish and boil them to make a stock. This we just jar and put in fridge. Then we can use that as the liquid to make the chowder which has potatoes cream and more seafood bits in (sometimes left over mussels and such that we couldn't eat).

I also like homemade brown bread, which is really a pudding you steam in a can (a leftover from our English puritan days) You can buy it locally as well, in a can, but never as good as homemade.

Sort:  

They both sound yummy and totally different from what we are accustomed to! I 'm just curious, how do you make steamed bread at home?

This is pretty much how I make mine, but I put cheesecloth over the top so it doesn't come out like in this video. I have also done it in an oven in a glass casserole with water and then you put the can in the water and cook in the over on 300 until it's done. It's really steamed pudding, I also use my old pudding molds, that I use at Christmas when I make my homemade plum pudding, which is also a steamed pudding, but sweeter and also made with suet (fat from the kidneys of cows/mutton).

We're kinda old school here in New England, we still have a bit of 'old England' left in us ;)

Oh, that's nice! I suddenly had a craving for some hot coffee by the window and a rainy day to go with the bread.

Everybody should keep something 'old' and pass it on to the next generations. It builds a stronger connection with your past, increases the feeling of belonging and shapes parts of your cultural ID.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62561.21
ETH 2449.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64