I'm such a noob.

in #trading7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday night not a creature was stirring, not even the mice. Being new to bitcoin, I have been reading and youtubing all about bitcoin and trading altcoins--what to do and what not to do. With a few 101 articles and videos behind me, I developed the courage to trade a few that I converted over from my savings.

So... It was just me, my three bitcoin, and polo. Some of you crypto traders can guess what is going to happen next. Last night a couple of the coins were hot. The troll box was calling out coins such as "TO THE MOON" and "10k!" and "weak sell wall". I watched in amazement as one coin would gain 40% in 30 minutes time and then completely dump. And then the other coin would begin to gain and minutes later would also dump. Now feeling a bit giddy, I went back to the first coin and saw that it had been climbing up in value again. "Now is my chance!" I told myself.

Plugged in the price. Maxed out my buy order. BUY! ...a minute of lag and then "order timed out." By this time, the coin's value had already gone up another 5% in value. "Argh!" Updated the buy price. and BUY! ..."not enough BTC". Oops, forgot to readjust the # of coins in my purchase. Corrected and... BUY! In the scuffle I have had with polo, I failed to see the price of the coin had gotten really high. So high in fact that as soon as my buy order went through, the price's floor feel through and dropped 10% in the first few seconds.

The noob in me said "oh no! Sell it! Sell it!" but I didn't. The smarty pants in me said "don't worry, it'll bounce back up. Just you wait. The youtube videos I watched said so."

... ... ... Here stands the man who didn't sell as the price continues to drop 20%. 25%. 40%. and (almost a day later) just about to break into the 45% loss. :*(

I feel a mixture of anger, regret, and desolation. The gloomy clouds and the rain today didn't help my spirits either. I realize I bought the coin at its highest ever price at the worst time. Still the person in me and my friend @ericvancewalton tells me that I will overcome this and that in the future when I'm financially free, I will look back and tell myself "I'm such a noob."

Sort:  

At this point your best bet is just to hold. Look at the charts and see what the trendlines show. You cant really screw up too much in crypto, you just lose time, the most valuable asset

I agree with you completely, Aaron. I just need to find something else to do in the mean time and not worry about it. Thanks for the great advice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65