My Terrible Crypto Trading Error at EtherDelta

in #trading7 years ago (edited)

I'm not sure exactly how it happened but I went on EtherDelta to sell some shitcoins that I had gotten from airdrops... and I ended up buying about $90 of one for well, well above what it was worth. So after I sold a few good airdrops for ETH I came to sell some Zero ETH.
zeth2.png

There was a huge spread with the single buy order being for next to nothing and the sell orders astronomically high. I clicked on the lowest buy order to see how much Ether they'd get if the impossible happened and somebody actually bought from them.
zeth3.png

I wasn't paying attention and I think I wanted to click out of the popup window... and somehow I must have clicked on the "Buy" button and I saw that my order was being processed. I have no recollection of even clicking my mouse. I was mortified. I scrambled to see if there was a way to cancel or if I could withdraw my ETH. But it was too late. I had bought a shitcoin for a shitton of money (for me anyway).

zeth1.png

You can view my stupid move here. https://etherdelta.com/#0xc091507e70f13ee6af6ef35f553af4c6e81e9b5d-ETH I guess it's no worse than me signing up for the eBTC airdrop (worth over $1,600), getting a confirmation email but never receiving the airdrop. Hopefully this will help me to be careful and not make an even bigger mistake next time. I don't think I'm cut out for trading. I sold my ETH when it rose to $12 and rebought at $45 and $90. Hindsight is 20/20. Hopefully Zero ETH goes to the moon haha

If you're interested in claiming lots of airdrops you can join the Free Crypto facebook group or view my spreadsheet of airdrops and giveaways.
crypto-airdrop-spreadsheet.jpg

Sort:  

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

very nice and informative post, i like it, @sixexgames me from discord

@alchemage has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sixexgames from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Thanks for showing us the trade. No one is perfect. Hope you can recover from that lost. I am still hesitant in joining a exchange because I heard some really bad stories such as accounts being hacked and exchanges locking funds. It is the risk we have to take every time we participate.

Yeah I'm super paranoid about some places I keep my funds. I just enabled 2FA on some accounts, so hopefully that helps.

Aw that sucks about the loss! You might get another change with ELTCOIN and NEOGOLD airdrops as they are on MERCATOX pumping up and down today and the last.

You've learned a valuable lessons and luckily I don't think you'll make that mistake again. Which will probably save your even more money in the future

Good luck homey!

The ETH that I lost I got from sellng ELTCOIN lol
haha thanks I figured it was a learning experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65