The Traveling Trader - Malaga - The first step of the journey

in #trading6 years ago (edited)

Intro

So back in February I had an idea to do an experiment, to see what it would be like to travel somewhere and pay for most of my expenses with trading.

The plan was simple enough, I would take 50% of the table from my biggest positions as needed and 80% from my day trades, from my math this should be sufficient to cover most of my expenses while at the same time make a big dent in my portfolio "hehe".

Anyways, I had some business to take care of in Malaga, Spain, so this was an excellent opportunity to see if I could do it.

The experiment would show me, what it would be like to trade for a living, what the challenges can be and how I would handle them.

From the top of my head I had some questions in mind:

What happens if the marked decides not to move?
Would my positions be different, now that I have some real pressure on me?
Can I handle the emotions?
Could this be a possible permanent future?

So for the next few weeks I will be posting my progress and make a little blog about my experience. I will not do a daily update and will not be sharing all of my trades, I will however share my thoughts on the crypto marked and some TA.
I want to make this blog about the experience and my journey.

The First Update:

I arrived in Spain about 4 days ago, it is winter here and raining a lot. There is very little rain here throughout the year, so I'm guessing its a good thing. From a Norwegians point of view this is like summer compared to back home, so I can't complain.

Currently I'm renting a flat in the part of town called La Malagueta, its about 50m from the beach and 100-200m to the center, in other words a really good spot to be. The price was about 56 Euro per night, but with a little bit of bargaining, I was able to get this down to 47 per night.

So far Im able to pay 50% of my expenses with a long position in BTC I took back in the start of February, also since I got here, I was able to make some money on ATOM/BTC and GDC/BTC.

5a9d42c5747be.png

I missed a good trade, Im not sure why I choose not to take a position but oh well, there is always another one.

5a9d43fe258e8.png

Thoughts on the crypto market

We have seen a bit of stagnation in the bigger currencies and it has been slow the last week, we are still going strong in a bull marked and at least for me BTC is signaling some much needed strength.

This next few day will be a good indication of where the marked is headed, my strategy so far is a small position going long in BTC and ETH, and the keep trading the alts.

(11.03.2018 UPDATE: BTC hit resistance but was rejected, might be some time before we see another rally.)

This concludes my first post, I hope you like it and I look forward to sharing this experience with you.
Also feel free to comment if you think something is missing or if I should include something else.

Here is some pictures from the apartment:
IMG_2362.JPG
IMG_2364.JPGIMG_2366.JPG
IMG_2374.JPG
IMG_2370.JPG
IMG_2372.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59588.19
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50