Drawing The Line; In The Sand Or In The Snow?

in #trading7 years ago

image
Image source.

Can you really know your true self without testing yourself to the limits?

A few days ago, I found a trading platform, registered and effectively handed over my $100 to them for nothing. Okay yes somethings happened in between like the fact that I doubled my $100 within 24 hours and as soon as I was ready to make out like a bandit, I was met with a shocker; a bouncer requested for my ID.

The thing is, the way I'm set up I don't always go around with my ID and at the point of entry, I wasn't informed that I'll need an ID to get out. All they said was that I could leave whenever I wanted to. Looking back, I should have been more patient; first to find out all the hidden rules and secondly to stay still until my ID was verified.

Now remember I mentioned that I effectively doubled my initial $100? Well that was me being modest. I grew it up to $280! So what happened? I got excited! Instead of staying still while my ID was being verified, I went back in to play. The allure of needing just $20 to triple my initial wallet size was too strong to resist. I could already see myself screaming at the top of my voice how badass I was. I promised myself to run back to the gate once I was beginning to approach my initial wallet size.

You know how easy it is to make promises when you're nowhere near being required to fulfill them? Little did I know that I already had my chance to run and I didn't take it. A few hours later, I'd walk tail-in-legs through the back door with nothing to show for my efforts.

Yes the thrill was there but from the deep sleep I had to take to calm my nerves, I have come to realize that maybe I'm not built for that type of thrill; it's probably too fast paced for me. Maybe because I'm a dreamer, I've grown to be more comfortable making long term bets and being right eventually than having to be right every other minute!

One of the party rules was that you couldn't go about sulking if you eventually left with nothing. This kept ringing in my head and also because I've learned to regret nothing, I'll take this gracefully in my strides and see it like everything else; a lesson learned.

Is this the nail on the coffin of me being a trader? Or am I just giving up too early?

I guess it all depends on what my limits are.

Sort:  

This almost sounds like a bitconnect story :)
Too bad you didn't quit while ahead. But like ponzi/pyramid HYIP programs, it is usually hard to quit while ahead.

Lol. It isn't Bitconnect.

Mehn, I use style dey pained gan o but no shaking.

I apply this Andreas M. Antonopoulos' tweet


@aantonop
Does it promise regular returns that exceed average market returns?

It's a Ponzi

Does it focus more on recruiting new people than any product?

It's a pyramid scheme

#litmustests
5:18 pm · 1 Dec 2017


That test is like a cryptocurrency hack on investment.

Thank goodness it didn't burn you much.

Hahaha! I totally understand the allure! I once won a bet sometime back in 2007. I was still in junior high, won it twice already. I thought it was easy so I had to keep going.

Put in all I had and finally lost...

Learning about the risks involved as much as the gains is necessary... Patience and logic when taking decisions are keys too...

Cheers! Hope you get another one bro.. And then buy me a drink.. 😉

Good talk on Limits

Let's just say it's charity lol

Lol... That's what we console ourselves with at such times. Hahaha.

Omo, you won't know whether to abuse yourself or to lock up...lol

na why i just sleep lol. It has passed sha.

35k lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67