You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Portfolio Rebalancing - Jan 2018 - Done!

in #trading7 years ago (edited)

@cryptographic Thanks for the update. Looked into bitUSD and wanted to ask if the position is a hedge for BTS. Do you expect the value of bitUSD to increase in price like SBD did, which were both created to peg a dollar in USD? I'd assume your bitUSD position will be used to sell rips in BTS and buy dips using bitUSD and trade within the BTS platform.

Also - with the proceeds from the sales, are you waiting to load up more in current positions?

Sort:  

The proceeds are going into real estate, which was underweighted, and which I view as a very safe long term hedge against fiat debasement similar in potential now to precious metals, or maybe even better. Not as good as crypto though, but much less risky, so there's a balanced trade-off there. On the other hand, you've got to make good picks, and in that regard, real estate is a lot like crypto, or stocks for that matter - location, location, location when it comes to real estate.

BitUSD is a much harder pegged instrument than SBD, but it could still get very scarce in a panic. That having been said, I've chosen to use it as a cost effective hedge against a crypto bear. Dry powder, as it were, with which to buy back on any major pullback. Syscoin will remain on my radar along with ADA and EOS, and if opportunities arise, I'll trade them. Neither ADA or SYS are listed on BitShares, so I'd have to go to Bittrex, for example, but that's no problem as they would immediately go to their respective wallets. I don't rule out other possibilities that we come across either, but, right now, I'm pretty bearish and I'd only be scalping if I did anything.

Congrats on the real estate made possible by your savvy investments. You truly practice the well-balanced portfolio mindset and I would have to agree that is the best way to go. A load of pressure was released after I re-balanced my oversized LTC and ADA positions recently.

May start blogging about swing trading in and out of BTS once I accumulate enough shares. Curious to know what % of bitUSD you have on the sidelines ready to buy a significant pullback.

Following best practice portfolio management has made all the difference in my life.

I've only got around 20% BitUSD right now (crypto only portfolio) basically because I'm so bullish on STEEM and BTS that I think they will be up even in a down market.

Good to know! Appreciate the info and guidance. I'll updating my technical analysis on BTS/STEEM and more in my posts. Trying to get into a routine of making daily posts: https://steemit.com/trading/@dirkboy41/bts-eos-steem-update-good-bounce-today

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45