You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Disaster in the Making

in #trading7 years ago (edited)

I think you're cool if you're on BitShares. There's no counterparty risk. Everything is 100% backed by its equivalent that goes into a smart contract when the funds come on board. For every bitUSD, there's a real USD in a smart contract. Same thing for everything "Bit" that's traded on BitShares, as I understand it (correct me if I'm wrong; likewise, please confirm it if I'm right).

If there is a blow-up with Tether, unlike the centralized exchanges that could get hit hard, BitShares wouldn't feel a thing. That having been said, all holders of USDT, and related, would get hit. The big difference is that the exchange wouldn't be compromised, again, as I understand things.

Sort:  

Yes that’s how I understand it as well. So given that, why wouldn’t everyone be tethering to bitUSD instead. Is it just not traded on exchanges outside of bitshares?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44