Fake traders, bs analysis and Elliot wave

in #trading7 years ago

So I encountered this "chartist" on steemit charting on crytocurrency.

I wanted to call him on his BS so badly.

He claims he charts on elliot wave theory, he starts placing 1 2 3 4 5 a b c wave on his chart.
Made a claim.

Then he goes on to plot a triangle that tells me he is a bogus trader. His triangle pattern was obvious to any seasoned traders out there that he has no understanding of elliot wave theory.


I just pulled this off google randomly Source

I am so pissed when this guy has a decent number of people following his bogus trades, stating that he has over XX years in the market.

I can't use his chart to show what a joke his chart was, but I can't stand these gurus, acting like they know what they are trading, but their real business is being a "Guru" and the worst is they got a whole bunch of people following their bogus analysis.

Some might argue that elliot wave is subjective etc, but there are some principles that are just golden.
I totally understand wave counts are subjective and i've preached that 10 traders can have 10 different views on wave count.
BUT, there are a b c d e waves inside a triangle, this bogus trader basically has 2 ridiculous wave inside thats it claims it is a triangle. I wished I could show you the exact chart, but I don't want enermies or to ruin his business".

There are 3 golden rules on elliotwave, (cheetah if you catch me on this few lines, I am going to be pissed, these are facts)

1 : Wave 2 can never cross wave 1
2: Wave 3 cannot be the shortest of wave 1,3,5
3: Wave 4 does not enter wave 1 territory

Elliot waves are used to predict market cycle, 5 impulse wave(12345) followed by 3 corrective wave(abc)
But most of the time corrective waves does not happen as simple as abc, there are a lot of complex corrective waves available.
Most of the time one may get confused to which wave it may be and if this is a complex corrective.

The simplest way to check is, zoom in on the timeframe you are in and re-count. H4 uses H1 to recount etc.
Inside each wave, it is possible to count the 5 wave again. Confirming a 5 wave can mean wave 1 in the higher timeframe etc

I know this extremely difficult to understand, took me years too. Maybe I will share a detailed post about it if there are enough interest on it.

If you are in anyway offended, just take it as I am ranting my unhappiness. And thanks for the read buddy!

Have a nice weekend

PS:

Follow me if want to see some technical analysis.

Comment to discuss

Resteem if you would like to help me gain followers

Upvote? If you want to toss me a penny

I am a financial anayst, writer & traveller

MY CURATION TRIAL HERE

This is my very own curation Trial, please feel free to follow me, I upvote responsibly only on truly unique content that could be missed out due to the overwhelming number of posts.
By following me here you are able to gain some precious curation rewards when I upvote responsibly on unpolished gemstones!

Sort:  

I hear ya bro - there are SO many traders posting so many vids and charts that are misleading at best. It can be a challenge, especially if you're new to trading, to know who's doing what that is technically valid.

I still think you should do a post explaining basic Elliot Wave analysis :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Amazonpricecheck from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

amazing post. thanks for sharing . i follow you and you follow me and upvote me.

What do you think about my TA? https://steemit.com/@stepanh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98