TRACE Doctor Who fan series

in #trace7 years ago

Today, I have a mini-review for the "Doctor Who" Fan Film entitled "T.R.A.C.E.", by Johnny Wu.

(Added link at end of this review has whole season wrapped into a 44 minute 4k video. This review is for the first episode, but you get the whole thing here.)

TRACE definitely deals with the Doctor, and I won’t tell you which one, although it is an obvious and well done one, believe you me. I was impressed with what I saw. What I can say is that the focus is on this being a potential tie-in to a larger story, has lots of martial arts without affecting the Doctor’s reputation. The Doctor uses guns, but doesn’t? What did I just say? How can this be, especially without ruining this one trait of the Doctor’s reputation? Surprisingly enough, it can and is done, and I salute Johnny for finally showing that the Doctor allows for some common sense . Now, don’t go crying “Spoilers”….because I didn’t, at least not quite.

Special effects are integrated to the martial arts scenes, which is something Johnny has traditionally strived to incorporate over the years, if memory serves. I believe it is key to the characters he developed in this fan universe. In fact, I would say that his stunt and martial arts access should be used by all productions in need of an edge on all their fight and stunt scenes. I can’t imagine he’d charge Hollywood prices, but you’d get Hollywood quality.
The production quality is quite good, and cinematic, with music by his longtime composer, who always does a fantastic job, and even keeps to a Doctor Who theme. Camera work keeps up with characters and the set was a decent location for much of the shoot. Mind you, this is only a short fan film episode, at only 5 minutes. The cuts and dialogue were great, and above average. I give thumbs up, and only have one slight issue with the whole film….like any Doctor Who episode, it keeps you wanting more!

Just click video to play TRACE season 1, despite its thumbnail.

Best, Kenny

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47