My Hometown: Klazomenai

in #tr7 years ago

Hi Steemians! I wanna introduce you my hometown Urla(Klazomenai). I was born in İzmir, the third most high populated city in Turkey. Urla is a beautiful, peaceful and for me sadly, very famous district. I've lived in a small neighbourhood by the sea called ''Iskele'', and I still spend my holidays there because my parents are living there.

In summer Urla and Iskele are being so hot and crowded. I can say that this is a touristic area. People coming here for famous fish restaurants, artichoke festivals, handicraft bazaar and the other cool things.

Image-1.png

The sea is so clean, and has lots of fishes and sea creatures in it. It is not very fun to swim in it, but it is so damn good to look at.

In winter, Urla is so calm. You see the same faces everyday, most of the restaurants and cafes are closed. You can't see anyone in the streets after 9 p.m and there are plenty of dogs walking around the neigbourhood as groups. So you should be careful, because it could be dangerous, unless you're friends with them. It took almost 3 months for me to be friends with them.

IMG_3930.jpg

Now they are my best fellas in Urla.

IMG_3931.jpg

Like I said; Urla is a really calm place to live. Especially in winter.

Image-1.png

Urla is also a historical area. The most ancient harbour in the Aegean coast has found in here. You can learn more by searching ''Limantepe'' . I couldn't find a news source in english so I leave this link here for Turkish readers: http://arsiv.ntv.com.tr/news/228408.asp

Like the harbour, Urla also has the World's most ancient olive oil factory. I see that old building everytime I go for a walk.
Here is another link for the Turkish readers: http://haberciniz.biz/dunyanin-ilk-zeytinyagi-fabrikasi-urlada-izmirin-urla-ilcesinde-kurulu-olan-ve-bugu-1386257h.htm

And apparently someone has the World's most expensive olive oil: http://www.hurriyetdailynews.com/worlds-most-expensive-olive-oil-auctioned-in-izmir-120946

In Iskele, you can see three generations of the families. My generation, we are the youngest ones. Our parents and grandparents are live here too. There are too many old people here and I think there's something in the water because they don't die, which is a great thing. There are some old people that I know since the time I was born, and they were old then. By old I mean like retired people who have grandchildren etc. And now, they're still old and alive.

Or maybe this amazing view can be the reason why they live so long.

Image-1 (2).png

So this is my hometown! I hope you like it dear Steemians.

*Sorry for the qualities of the photos, I had to take them from my Instagram account.

Sort:  

You live in an idyllic and most beautiful place, buddy. Especially that last shot. Pure beauty. Makes me wanna book a flight out to those parts ASAP, lol!

Great post, my friend. Fantastic job. :)

Thank you so much! You really should visit Urla if you have a chance:)

Sweet photos and colors, I just wrote an "introduce yourself" post with a pretty town sky photo too

Thank you! I'll take a look at your post.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by aslı from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @xandar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @xandar to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66205.77
ETH 3304.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72