Turkish Delights #1 - Bodrum Merkez (Town Centre)

in #tr7 years ago (edited)

Turkish Delights #1

 

Intro:

 
Turkey is an amazing country, blessed with diversity in its landscapes, traditions, cuisine and history. The country has more than 8,000 km of coastline, including the Black Sea (Karadeniz) to the north, the Mediterranean Sea (Akdeniz) to the south, and the Aegean Sea (Ege Denizi) to the west. There are also many vast inland bodies of water; stunning lakes and beautiful rivers throughout. From mountains to seaside, rural to urban, Turkey is a country with so much to offer, and so much to explore.

Every now and again I am fortunate enough to venture out into different regions. I hope one day that I am able to take one year to discover all of its treasures - but in the meantime I hope to post some of the photos I take on my occasional journeys.
 

Bodrum Merkez (Town Centre)

 

The Bodrum peninsula is situated on the southwest coast of Turkey where the Aegean Sea meets the Mediterranean. It has many towns and villages, each with their own charm and distinction, but the main town is the eponymous Bodrum, which will be the focus of my first post.

P1000037.JPG

[B1] Bodrum Castle

IMG_0033.jpg

[B2] Taken from within Bodrum Castle

IMG_0035.jpg

[B3] Taken from within Bodrum Castle

P1000052.JPG

[B4] View to castle from windmills near Myndos Gate

IMG_4121.jpg

[B5] Bodrum Castle through the masts

IMG_0109.jpg

[B6] Bodrum Harbour

IMG_3434.jpg

[B7] Gulet

IMG_0092.jpg

[B8] Castle at dusk


It would be very helpful if you could reply below to let me know which (if any) of the photos you like the most. Please also reply if you have any questions or general comments; I look forward to hearing from you!

(I am not a photographer, and most of my photos are taken with an iPhone 6, so I realise my limitations. I would be really grateful for advice, suggestions and/or recommendations that the community has to offer with respect to technique, composition, equipment etc.)

Thanks for taking the time to look over my post. Please follow to see the next location.

All the best!

Türk Kahve sm.jpeg

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing the photos, they look amazing. I have never been to Bodrum before but several friends have and all had good things to say about the place. Do you live in Turkey? Thanks for sharing and good luck again!

Thanks for your reply.

I spend about 4-5 months of the year in Turkey.

Bodrum is beautiful, largely unspoilt, and there are many different places to visit across the peninsula (I'll be posting some of the others soon inşallah). You should definitely visit!

Also, check out this link below. It has some really good holiday/travel ideas:

10 destinations in Turkey which make you feel like you are holidaying abroad

Take care!

Great post! AMazing pics!

Thank you, glad you like them! 👍🏼

Nice photos. I hope that I will visit this summer. :)

Thanks Osman bey!

Yes, you must visit Bodrum, its really beautiful; but then again, all of Turkey is beautiful maşallah

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58296.60
ETH 3064.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26