My ex secretly took our child to the Czech Republic'

in #tr6 years ago


A mother from Yorkshire has spent 18 months fighting for access to her daughter, who was taken abroad by her ex. Custody battles are always stressful and dealing with foreign courts and lawyers adds extra complications, expense and delays. But as more people take advantage of Europe's freedom of movement stories like this are becoming more common.

"He didn't tell me what he was planning," says Tracy. "He said he was taking her for an overnight stay at his temporary accommodation in Bradford. Looking back, I remember her saying that she didn't want to go, but I didn't think anything was wrong. I wanted him to have this contact.

Something was wrong, though, as Tracy soon found out.

"The next morning he called me. He was clearly upset and he told me that they were back in the Czech Republic. I just went into shock. It was the worst moment of my life. I called the police and they spoke to him, but under the international treaty they said there was nothing they could do, even though he'd taken her there without me knowing anything about it."

Tracy had met her Czech-born partner while he was working in Bradford in 2005 and had given birth to their daughter three years later. When the partner was made redundant the couple decided to move to his village in the Czech Republic where they lived with his parents. But at some point their relationship broke down.

In 2016, with Tracy's mother's health deteriorating, they moved back to the UK with their daughter, who was then seven. Even though they were not together as a couple, they could both love and care for her.

But when they got back to Bradford, Tracy's ex had a disagreement with her mother, and he was asked to leave.

Her former partner, who did not want to be named, says that he had never intended the 2016 move back to the UK to be permanent - he only agreed because Tracy's mother was ill. When he realised that he was not welcome at the family home he started considering his options.

"I was thinking what to do," he says. "I wasn't even allowed to be in the house for my daughter's birthday. I walked away and I felt miserable. I was crying like a small kid. That was the breaking point when I said 'No'. Maybe it could have been different if they had proceeded more carefully, Tracy and her mother, if they were not so heavy-handed.

"Maybe I would have stayed and found myself a flat. Maybe I would have endured it. I will be honest with you, now I have a huge aversion towards England. I see English football and I switch to another channel."

Find out more
The story of how Tracy's former partner took their daughter out of the UK without her mother's agreement features in The Untold: Child of Mine.

Listen again here

Under the Hague Convention, which governs cases of child custody waged across international borders, a child's base is considered to be the country in which he or she has lived longest.

In Tracy's daughter's case, this was the Czech Republic, where she had lived for seven years.

This made it hard for Tracy to make a legal argument for her daughter to be returned to Bradford.

"Because of the way the relationship ended I didn't feel able to go back there," says Tracy. "It was destroying me to be apart from her and be told that this could happen legally - it was unbelievable. I don't think the Hague Convention should be used to punish a mother." She feels the fact that she was her daughter's main carer should count for more.

It took an agonising 18 months for Tracy to get holiday visiting rights approved. And when she finally saw her daughter again at Leeds Bradford airport on 6 July this year it was a huge relief.

"It was a dreadful time but being with her now makes me realise how little the bond has changed. We've spent almost a month together and it's been beyond anything I imagined," she says.

"It was amazing when we saw each other again. I picked her up and twirled her round," says Tracy.

Tracy had moved into a new home in Bradford during the 18 months she spent apart from her daughter - but as soon as the little girl stepped foot in the house she said that it smelt familiar.

"Within hours of us being reunited, we were hugging and laughing as though we had never been apart. She's taller, with more freckles, but otherwise unchanged. She hugs me so much and we tell each other how much we love each other all the time."

But the time is fast approaching when Tracy's daughter must leave again, and she won't be back before Christmas.

"I know that my daughter is heartbroken at the thought of us being separated," says Tracy. "I have held her as she has cried and screamed about what's happened and the pain she must suffer when we part."

The father says it has not been an easy situation for any of them.

"Look, it was a hard time - I didn't abduct my daughter, I just took her back home," he says.

But he also believes that his daughter wasn't badly affected.

"She is coping the best of all," he says. "I communicate with her teacher and she does not see any difference. Her health is strong."

The long separation from her mother will have had some effect on the child, says Anne Marie Hutchinson, a UK-based expert on The Hague Convention.

"The longer a situation goes on where a child is estranged or isolated from its other parent, the more difficult it will be to re-establish the relationship between the parent and the child. So delay in this situation is going to damage the child," she says.

She adds that removing a child without the other parent's knowledge is "always reprehensible and damaging" whatever the rights and wrongs of the legal position.

Tracy also says her daughter suffered in the immediate aftermath of the separation.

"I now know that her little body shook with fear the night her father took her without my knowledge or consent," says Tracy. "I know that he promised her she would see her beloved dog before he put her in a taxi to the airport. She was so sad when she realised that he'd lied and that I wasn't coming back to the Czech Republic.

"She said the second evening we were reunited: 'If my dad wants to be fair, why do I have to live in the Czech Republic?' She really likes England. I suppose all I can do is keep instilling in her how much I love her and that she will always have a home here."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43