Savage World: Horror by Funko

in #toys6 years ago

169457BB-3EBB-4FD6-9560-73AB15472CBD.jpeg

This September, Funko is debuting a new line of 5 1/2” action figures called Savage World Horror. It’s basically mashing up the popular Horror characters of today into a “What if the were in the world of Vintage He-Man”...

These over muscled murderers will come with accessories and will fit right in to any vintage toy display. Let’s check em out.

There will be Freddy Krueger from Nightmare on Elm Street.

4E908361-B7CD-4E8C-8B02-DC81AB536A72.jpeg

Leatherface from the Texas Chainsaw Massacre.

176BC6EE-2AA4-49CE-8AC5-A95434F93DA1.jpeg

Jason Voorhees from Friday the 13th.

70DFE7F0-70B0-4914-A012-0428E9CCF485.jpeg

Pinhead from Hellraiser III

F2C615A7-0CAE-4F8D-A5F3-4F62E7FC967D.jpeg

Last but not least...Michael Meyers from Halloween Resurrection.

C5919E6F-7E87-4F69-BA4C-031D745DBA48.jpeg

They even come complete in cheap looking old school packaging which I kinda hate. They did the same thing for their ReAction line and the bubbles fall off the cardboard and detach when someone walks near it. I hope they use a better adhesive. That was probably my biggest complaint with the ReAction line. So many we have just detached leaving a not new figure to sell at the shop.

We will see how the line does. I’m not super crazy about them to be honest. Funko’s Track record with lines outside of Pops have been questionable. I’m actually going to do a piece on that in the near future. Theirs successes and their swings and misses but for now, let me know what you think. There is definitely a market for this stuff. Mash ups are cool, horror is more popular than ever, people love vintage shit. Will this sell well? I don’t know. What do you think? You a fan? Or is it an easy pass?

All photos courtesy from figures.com

Sort:  

Pinhead got swoll.

These look ridiculous. I’ll get a few for the store as horror shit usually does well there but I just am not sold on these...

The worst part is that I get why they think it's a fun idea. MOTU is great. Horror legends are great. Combining them could be neat. But the execution just looks wrong.

Yeah exactly. Can’t win em all I guess. I’m going to guess this line will not continue for long. But I’ve been wrong before. Usually I hit the nail on the head though predicting Funko’s other lines successes.

I did see a mashup Avengers+Mr Potato Head Funko at my local unclaimed freight store. Equally weird and probably ill advised, but at least cute.

Yeah they did a Black Panther one and a SDCC Exclusive Deadpool one a few years back. Pretty fun

Love the Idea, not keen on the designs though.

Yeah these aren’t really my cup of tea either. I appreciate the creativeness of it and retro fans might love it...but I’m only ordering a small quantity for the shop.

Yeah I just don’t see this line doing well. I’d be highly surprised if there was more than a wave or two...

From the packaging I'd guess there's more in the pipeline, there's a distinct separation between the Savage World and Horror logos. What else they could do I don't know, maybe wrestlers, that would probably work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56855.76
ETH 2540.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24